Millsaps College


Tips for Finding Articles in theatre studies
JSTOR
This database has good full-text coverage of theater studies and drama criticism. There is no Subject searching, so remember to put titles and authors' names in quotation marks to search them as Keyword phrases--and leave authors' names in the normal first-name last-name order. Set "Limit" to "Article."

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)  
In running searches on playwrights directors, or actors, don't settle for a Keyword search on the individual's name, as this will retrieve too many articles in which the he or she is only mentioned. Instead open the "Select a Field" drop-down menu and search the name, last name first, in the "People" field.

The titles of shows should be searched as Keyword phrases, so be sure to put them in quotation marks.  In Academic Search Premier you can set a "Document Type" limit and choose "Entertainment review"--if you want a performance review--or "Literary Criticism"--if you want scholarly analysis of a play. If your subject is a contemporary writer/director/performer, you might try "Interview."

Project Muse
Project Muse has some coverage of films, theater and performing arts.  Limit your search to 'reviews' or 'articles' using the advanced search. 
Book Search
Search for in
Searching for plays in the Library Catalog
There is no one location for plays in the library.  You will need to search the Library Catalog by play title.  When searching a play title use the Keyword search.  This will retrieve not only items with the identical title, but also items where that title occurs only in the Table of Contents.

Play texts and criticism are shelved by country, then by period, then by author. For example, Russian literature has call numbers beginning with PG, British PR, and American PS.  To find resources on the plays and literary traditions of a particular country, run a Subject search using the adjective form of the country before "drama." For example, American Drama or French Drama.

To find scenes:
We have several books of scenes that can be found doing a catalog search for: actor? scene?

All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Art Index Restricted Resource

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more. 


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines. Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages.

Web Sites

American variety stage Some full text available
This multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings remains a readily accessible source of examples of American popular culture as it appeared on variety stages, especially vaudeville that thrived from 1870 to 1920.
Didaskalia Some full text available
Didaskalia is an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance.
Library of Congress: Music, Theater & Dance Some full text available
Browse the Library of Congress's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre, The Oxford Dictionary of Dance, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera, Who's Who in Opera The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric Restricted Resource

The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.


Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Handbooks & Guides

Companion to Theatre and Performance Restricted Resource

This Oxford Companion is based on the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers. New entries cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia. The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing threatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work. It has 2,400 entries presented in a far more compact and portable format. The timeline of historical and cultural events in the world of theatre and performance has been significantly updated, along with the extensive bibliography.


Grove Book of Opera Singers Restricted Resource

The most comprehensive guide to opera singers ever produced, this volume offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies that range from Marion Anderson (the first African American to perform at the Met) to Benedict Zak (the classical tenor and close friend and colleague of Mozart). Readers will find fascinating articles on such opera stars as Maria Callas and Enrico Caruso, Ezio Pinza and Fyodor Chaliapin, Lotte Lehmann and Jenny Lind, Lily Pons and Luciano Pavarotti. The profiles offer basic information such as birth date, vocal style, first debut, most memorable roles, and much more. But these articles often go well beyond basic biographical information to offer colourful portraits of the singer's personality and vocal style, plus astute evaluations of their place in operatic history and many other intriguing observations. Many entries also include suggestions for further reading, so that anyone interested in a particular performer can explore their life and career in more depth. The articles are mostly drawn from the acclaimed Grove Music Online and have been fully revised, and the book is further supplemented by more than 40 specially commissioned articles on contemporary singers.


Oxford Companion to the American Musical Restricted Resource

With more than two thousand entries, this guide offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. Biographical entries range from early stars Fred Astaire, Bing Crosby, Mary Martin, and Mae West to contemporary show-stoppers Nathan Lane, Savion Glover, and Kristin Chenoweth, while composers Irving Berlin, George Gershwin, Richard Rodgers, and Andrew Lloyd Webber all have articles, and the choreography of Bob Fosse, Tommy Tune, and Debbie Allen receives due examination. The plays and films covered range from modern hits like Mamma Mia! and Moulin Rouge! to timeless classics such as Yankee Doodle Dandy and Show Boat. Also, numerous musicals written specifically for television appear throughout, and many entries follow a work - Babes in Toyland for example - as it moves across genres, from stage, to film, to television. The Companion also includes cross references, a comprehensive listing of recommended recordings and further reading, a useful chronology of all the musicals described in the book, plus a complete index of Tony Award and Academy Award winners.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Theatre Reviews

New York Times Directory of the Theater
Reviews range: 1920-1970
Call Number: Z6935 .N48 1973 Engel Room

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews
Call Number: PN2000 .N76 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976 Engel Room

American drama criticism : interpretations, 1890-1977
Call Number: PS332 .E3X Stacks

A Guide to critical reviews, part I : American drama, 1909-1982
Call Number: Z1035.A1 S3 PT.1 1984 1-West (Basement Library Lab)

A Guide to critical reviews. Part II, the musical, 1909-1989
Call Number: Z1035.A1 S3 PT.2, 1991 1-West (Basement Library Lab)

A Guide to critical reviews, part III : foreign drama, 1909-1977
Call Number: Z1035.A1 S3 PT.3 1979 1-West (Basement Library Lab)

A Guide to critical reviews, part IV : the screenplay, from The Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove
Call Number: Z1035.A1 S3 PT.4 1971 V.1 and V.2 1-West (Basement Library Lab)

Opening Night on Broadway
Broadway reviews, 1943-1964
Call Number: ML1711.8.N3 O64 1990 Stacks

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.