Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


MDX Health Digest Restricted Resource
Digest of medical and health information for consumers.
Westlaw Campus Research (Classic Version) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Note: A new interface to access Westlaw content is available: WestlawNext Campus Research.


Westlaw Campus Research covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text.  It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business.

Law:  Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary.  Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.

News:  Contains full text of newspapers including The New York Times, Boston Globe, Atlanta Journal and Constitution; magazines such as Newsweek, Consumer Reports, and Publisher's Weekly; over 400 newswires; newsletters; and over 900 broadcast transcripts.
Some of the regional papers included are:  Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1988-present), Memphis Commercial Appeal (1990-present), New Orleans Times-Picayune (1989-present).  Also, archived stories from news stations across the U.S. are available, and local stations WAPT and WJTV are included (Exact Titles:  Jackson ABC 16 WAPT-MS, Jackson CBS 12 WJTV-MS).

 

Business:
Selected business, trade and professional journals and publications, including Financial Times, The Economist, Business Week, and The New England Journal of Medicine.  Also contains company information e.g. Hoover's Company Records, including profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations, and SEC Filings.

note: Select WestlawNext Campus Research in the Database List for the newest interface
WestlawNext Campus Research Restricted Resource Some full text available

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


note: Click here for the WestlawNext Campus Research Quick Reference Guide

Web Sites

ARTSEARCH
Job postings for careers in the arts.  Posts over 5000 art jobs per year.  An essential source for a career in the arts.
note: ASK A LIBRARIAN FOR THE USERNAME AND PASSWORD.

Bibliographies: Greek and Latin literature by Author

Latin and Greek Authors on the Web
Relevant on-line resources for individual Latin and Greek authors.

Bibliographies: Hellenistic Greek literature

Hellenistic Bibliography
Provides access to a series of bibliographies on post-classical Greek poetry and its influence.

Bibliographies: Roman Literature by Author

Appendix Vergiliana

Latest Entry 2003.


Apuleius: Cupid und Psyche
Latest Entry 2002
Carmina Priapea
Latest Entry 2003.
Catullus
Latest Entry 1999.
Horace
Latest Entry 2006.
Horace - Odes I-III
Latest Entry 1999.
Martial
Latest Entry 2001.
Petronius: Cena Trimalchionis
Latest Entry 2003.
Ps.-Seneca: Epigrams
Latest Entry 2002.
Ps.-Vergil: Catalepton

Latest Entry 2002.


Vergil: Aeneid
Latest Entry 2005.
Vergil: Eclogues
Latest Entry 2002.
Vergil: Georgics

Latest Entry 2003.


Bibliographies: Roman Literature by Genre

Ancient Novel
Latest Entry 2000.
Roman Biography
Latest Entry 1999.
Roman Epistolary Literature
Latest Entry 1999.
Roman Love Elegy
Latest Entry 2004.

Comprehensive lists of online bibliographies for all aspects of the Greek world

PINAX ONLINE
An Annotated List of Web Bibliographies on the Ancient Greek World

Dictionaries

Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd Edition Restricted Resource

The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition, published in 2013, is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American music. This second edition provides greatly expanded coverage, particularly in the areas of popular music, cities and regions, musical theater, opera, concert music, and music technology, as well as the musical traditions of many ethnic and cultural groups. Articles range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra.


Oxford Reference Online -- Classics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Who’s Who in the Classical World

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Brill's New Pauly Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
New Pauly Online includes all the volumes of Brill’s New Pauly and Der Neue Pauly, and is a dual-language (English and German) reference database. This encyclopedic database is a standard work for the study of the ancient world, and is interdisciplinary in nature.

This online database comprises:
  • Antiquity (15 print volumes), which is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
  • Classical Tradition (5 print volumes), which is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Der Neue Pauly Restricted Resource Some full text available
New Pauly Online includes all the volumes of Brill’s New Pauly and Der Neue Pauly, and is a dual-language (English and German) reference database. This encyclopedic database is a standard work for the study of the ancient world, and is interdisciplinary in nature.

This online database comprises:
  • Antiquity (15 print volumes), which is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
  • Classical Tradition (5 print volumes), which is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Statistics/Data

Value Line Online, Library Elite Restricted Resource

Value Line Online Library Elite covers over 3,500 stocks, including 1,800 small and mid-cap companies. Included are online full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety Ranks. Users can customize Value Line reports to match their investment objectives.


note: The subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.