Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Statistics/Data

American Factfinder Some full text available
Census Bureau portal to census data from approx. 1990-present.
Economic Census Some full text available
Track the performance of your industry overtime. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts an Economic Census every 5 years. This data is strictly statistical in nature. No companies are named. However you will see how many establishments existed in your industry, the value of shipments or other relevant measures of productivity, number of employees etc.  Data is available online from 1992 forward. 
Mississippi Quick Facts - US Census Bureau Some full text available

Census data for Mississippi - includes business data, demographics and geography quickfacts. Also includes county and city data.


Statistical Abstract of the United States
 (Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Digest of major statistics from many U.S. agencies including the Census Bureau since 1878.
Statistics on the Web

60 Industry Database
Publisher: Groningen Growth and Development Centre. University of Groningen

Air Transport Association: Data and Analysis
Publisher: Air Transport Association of America, Inc.

All Bank Statistics, 1896 - 1955
Publisher: U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Annual Statistical Digest
Publisher: U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Annual Survey of Manufactures - see also: http://factfinder.census.gov/
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census

Association of American Publishers [some data available by purchase only]
Publisher: Association of American Publishers

Audio Publishers Association
Publisher: Audio Publishers Association

Aviation Accident Statistics
Publisher: U.S. National Transportation Safety Board

Banking and Monetary Statistics, 1914-1941
Publisher: U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Banking and Monetary Statistics, 1941-1970

Publisher: U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Bankruptcy Statistics
Publisher: U.S. Courts
 
Bankruptcy Statistics
Publisher: U.S. Courts

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Publisher: U.S. Department of Commerce

BLS Publications 1978-1998 - Subject Index

Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 
BLS Publications, 1886-1971. Bulletin 1749
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 

BLS Publications, 1972-1977. Bulletin 1990.
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 

BLS Publications, 1978-1998. Report 925.
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 

Bookwire
Publisher: Bowker
 

Business Statistics (Suppl to the Survey of Current Business) [1932-1965]
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Office of Business Economics :
 

Census Bureau: Business & Industry
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
 

Center for International Development at Harvard University (CID). Research Datasets
Publisher: Center for International Development. Harvard University (CID).
 

CESSDA (Council of European Social Science Data Archives)
Publisher: Council of European Social Science Data Archives
 

ClickZ Stats & Tools
Publisher: Incisive Interactive Marketing LLC
 

College Graduates in the U.S. Workforce: A Profile (2003)
Publisher: National Science Foundation
 

Concordance of Statistics [1978-2000]
Publisher: U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
 

County and City Data Book
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
Catalog Record
 

County and City Databook (1988, 1994, and 2000)
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
Catalog Record
 

Data.gov
Publisher: U. S. Chief Information Officers Council
 

E-Stats: Measuring the Electronic Economy
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
 

EconData : A Source of Economic Time Series Data from INFORUM
Publisher: University of Maryland. Economics Dept. INFORUM Research Group.
Catalog Record
 

EconData.Net
Publisher: Impresa, Inc. and Andrew Reamer & Associates
 

Economagic: Economic Time Series Page
Publisher: Economagic.com
 

Economic and Housing Data
Publisher: National Association of Home Builders
 

Economic Indicators.gov
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Commerce. Economics and Statistics Administration
 

Employment and Earnings Online
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 

European Central Bank Statistics
Publisher: European Central Bank
 

Existing-Home Sales: Monthly Data for the U.S. and Regions
Publisher: National Association of Realtors (NARA)
 

FedStats.gov
Publisher: USA.gov
 

Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) Statistics
Publisher: UNCTAD Division on Investment, Technology and Enterprise

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Publisher:   Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Groningen Growth and Development Centre. GGDC Databases
Publisher: Groningen Growth and Development Centre. University of Groningen
 

Health Status, Health Insurance, and Health Services Utilization
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
 

Historical Statistics of Canada
Publisher: Statistics Canada
 

Housing and Economic Statistics
Publisher: National Association of Realtors (NAR)
 

HousingTracker: Asking prices & Home inventories
Publisher: Benengebreth.org
 

InfoUSA Free Catalog of Business and Consumer Statistics
Publisher: InfoUSA.com
 

International Digital Publishing Forum [e-book statistics]
Publisher: International Digital Publishing Forum
 

International Economic Statistics (IES) Database
Publisher: U.S. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
 

International Publishers Association
Publisher: International Publishers Association
 

Land and Property Values in the U.S.
Publisher: Lincoln Institute of Land Policy
 

Magazine Publishers of America
Publisher: Magazine Publishers of America
 

Maritime Data and Statistics
Publisher: U. S. Dept. of Transportation. Maritime Administration
 

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). Data.
Publisher: National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
 

National Income and Product Accounts
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Office of Business Economics :
Catalog Record
 

National Statistics (U.K.)
Publisher: U.K.Office for National Statistics.
 

National Transportation Statistics
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Transportation
 

Newspaper Association of America/Research [some data for members only]
Publisher: Newspaper Association of America
 

Nielsen BookScan Australia [some data for subscribers only]
Publisher: Nielsen Entertainment
 

Port Industry Statistics
Publisher: American Association of Port Authorities
 

Prices and Wages: Index to Websites
Publisher: International Institute of Social History
 

Primary Mortgage Market Survey
Publisher: Freddie Mac
 

Quarterly Cost Index: U.S. Passenger Airlines
Publisher: Air Transport Association of America, Inc.
 

Regional Economic Conditions
Publisher: Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
 

State of the World's Population
Publisher: United Nations Population Fund
 

Statistical Abstract of the United States (.pdf file)
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
Catalog Record
 

Survey of Current Business (1921-2002)
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Commerce
 

Survey of Current Business (1994 - current)
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Commerce
 

Tax Statistics
 

The Website of the Trilateral Co-operation
Publisher: Trilateral Co-operation
 

TradeStats Express (US trade data)
Publisher: U.S. International Trade Administration
 

U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Publications 1978-1998. Subject Index
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 

U. S. Maritime Administration. Data & Statistics
Publisher: U.S. Dept. of Transportation. Maritime Administration
 

U.S. Office of Thrift Supervision. Publications and Data
Publisher: U.S. Office of Thrift Supervision
 

UNdata
Publisher: United Nations Publications.
 

United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Statistics Division
Publisher: United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Statistics Division
 

United States Historical Census Data Browser [1790-1970] (ICPSR)
Publisher: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
 

US Census of Population and Housing (Decennial) 1790-2000 [PDF/ZIP]
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of the Census
 

US Economy at a Glance
Publisher: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
 

Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center
Publisher: Waterborne Commerce Statistics Center (New Orleans, LA)
 

WebEc Economics Data
Publisher: WebEc
 

World Bank Development Indicators
Publisher: World Bank
 

World Economic Outlook Databases
Publisher: International Monetary Fund

List provided by the Library of Congress

Historical Statistics
International Statistics
International trade statistics yearbook (Reference Room - HF91 .U473) - is a basic source for social, economic, and demographic data for countries of the world. Statistics are detailed and reliable but can be slow in publication.

International marketing data and statistics - (Reference Room - HA42 .I56)

The World Bank publishes the World Development Indicators & Global Development Finance which include extensive economic, demographic, social, environmental, educational, and cultural indicators on countries, regions, and economic groupings of the world.

Now available from the World Bank is the Complete World Development Report Online with annual volumes back to 1978.

The complete Country Data Tables are also online as are many other measures of agricultural, rural, social, and urban development under Data: Topics by the World Bank.

Many different Social Indicators have been compiled by the United Nations. Older data from the World Bank is in its Social Indicators of Development; this data is to "provide a picture of the social effects of economic development."

The International Data Base, maintained by the US Census Bureau, combines data from country sources with the Bureau's estimates. This resource contains mostly demographic and some socio-economic data.

Consider the World Integrated Trade Solution as the starting point for access to major international trade, tariffs and non-tariff data compilations (registration required):

  • The UN COMTRADE (Commodity Trade Statistics) database maintained by the United Nations Statistical Division, export and import data going back to 1962, for commodities by Harmonized System (HS) or Standard International Trade Classification (SITC);
  • The TRAINS (TRade Analysis and INformation System) maintained by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), searchable by Harmonized Schedule (HS) numbers;
  • The IDB (Integrated Data Base) and CTS (Consolidated Tariff Schedule) databases maintained by the World Trade Organization (WTO).



List compiled by Rutgers University Librarians.

Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073