Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Web Sites

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

The ACLU is our nation's guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country. More information is available on the ACLU website: http://www.aclu.org/about-aclu-0


Civil Rights Resource Guide from the Library of Congress
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material related to civil rights, including photographs, documents, and sound recordings. This guide compiles links to civil-rights resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on civil rights and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers.

Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964 Some full text available Resource contains images
The Wisconsin Historical Society has one of the richest collections of Civil Rights movement records in the nation, which includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964.
Social Justice Education Wiki (UBC)
This wiki was created by The University of British Columbia (UBC) students, staff and faculty. It includes a bibliography on the subject of social justice education.

Civil Rights Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web. The initiative promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement through its three principal components: 1) a digital video archive of historical news film, 2) a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library by connecting related digital collections on a national scale, and 3) a learning objects component delivering resources such as contextual stories, encyclopedia articles, lesson plans, and activities.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Restricted Resource Some full text available
The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Images & Artifacts

Mississippi Department of Archives and History Digital Archives

MDAH Digital Archives include

  • electronic records received from government agencies and officials
  • donated and acquired electronic resources
  • digital copies of original materials from MDAH collections, including paper documents, photographs, maps, audio, and video

Not all electronic archival materials are featured on this site; there are many more items accessible through the online catalog. Some are limited to use in the archives due to copyright or other restrictions. In such cases, the catalog record will direct researchers to the archives' media reading room for access.


Mississippi Digital Library Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Mississippi Digital Library is the cooperative digital library program for the state. Its ultimate aim is to provide access to primary source materials covering a wide range of subject areas from Mississippi museums, archives, libraries, and historical societies.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Statistics/Data

American Factfinder Some full text available
Census Bureau portal to census data from approx. 1990-present.
Economic Census Some full text available
Track the performance of your industry overtime. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts an Economic Census every 5 years. This data is strictly statistical in nature. No companies are named. However you will see how many establishments existed in your industry, the value of shipments or other relevant measures of productivity, number of employees etc.  Data is available online from 1992 forward. 
Mississippi Quick Facts - US Census Bureau Some full text available

Census data for Mississippi - includes business data, demographics and geography quickfacts. Also includes county and city data.


Statistical Abstract of the United States
 (Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Digest of major statistics from many U.S. agencies including the Census Bureau since 1878.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Social Justice eBooks
There are several books on the topic of social justice in the library's eBook collection. eBooks from EBSCOhost can be found in Big Search or in the eBook Academic - an eBook subscription collection from Ebsco database.

For information on how to use the eBooks, use this guide: http://library.millsaps.edu/sp/subjects/guide.php?subject=ebooks
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.