Millsaps College


Search Strategy
Searching in library databases requires some special search strategies.  We recommend using these five search strategies. Here are some examples of using those search strategies for Healthcare Management:

(leadership) and (medical+OR+health+OR+physician*) - try this is Business Source Premier.

"patient satisfaction" - try this in Business Source Premier.

"marketing strategy" AND  (hospitals or "health facilities") - try this in Business Source Premier.


Databases
Econ Lit
EconLit is the American Economic Association's electronic bibliography of economic literaturenand also contains citations from the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), annual volumes of the Index of Economic Articles as well as the Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics (AWPE).
 
Medline indexes the world's most extensive medical literature. This database also includes links to a small number of full text articles.

Mergent Online
Allows the user to construct business and financial reports in tabular form on 25,000 companies worldwide. Searchable EDGAR filings, country profiles and company news are also available.

PsycARTICLES
Search the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral and health sciences. Spanning 1806 to the present, coverage is of approximately 2,000 periodicals. Uses EBSCO.

Pubmed (Medline)
Provides access to over 14 million Medline citations back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals.

SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. 
Web Sites
  • American Hospital Directory
    The American Hospital Directory® provides online data for over 6,000 hospitals. The Free Hospital Information section provides key information about hospitals throughout the United States.
  • H CUPnet
    HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
  • National Center for Health Statistics
    The premier source of information about health and healthcare in the United States.
  • Pan American Health Organization
    PAHO serves as the regional arm for the Americas of the World Health Organzation. It provides data and information on various health topics for areas in the Americas.
  • World Health Report
    The World Health Report which was first published in 1995 is WHO's leading publication. Each year the report combines an expert assessment of global health, with a focus on a specific subject.

Statistics

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Research, Statistics, Data site.

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care. Medical resource distribution data.

Center for Studying Health System Change. Nonpartisan policy research organization the producing research and statistics on insurance costs and coverage, access to care, quality and care delivery and health care markets.

HCUP.net (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project). Federal and selected state statistics and trends on hospital stays including procedures, diagnoses, etc.

Health, United States. Annual publication that presents detailed tables and charts on health status and its determinants, health care resources, health care utilization, and health insurance and expenditures.

Kaiser Family Foundation. Non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Includes data on insurance coverage, utilization, Medicare/Medicaid, etc.

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). Data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

National Center for Health Statistics. Principal health statistics agency in the United States.

Penn's Biomedical Library - Data Sets & Statistics

SourceOECD. The OECD's online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals.

World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS). WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. The WHOSIS database containing core health statistics for WHO Member States.
New Articles: from Healthcare Executive

Loading ...

New Articles: Health Care and Strategy

Loading ...