Millsaps College


Articles in Journals/Magazines
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Art Index Restricted Resource

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers
New York Times Online (1980 - present) Restricted Resource

The complete text of articles back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.

The library has issues of The New York Times before 1980 on microform. The microforms are located in the basement computer lab. You can ask for help on how to view the microforms at the front desk or from a librarian.

Google News Archive

Click on the arrow in the search box to open the advanced search options. Enter the name of the movie in the "this exact phrase:" search box. Under where it states "Date added to Google News:", select "specified dates." Then, enter a 1 - 3 year date range that includes the year the movie was released.

For example, you could enter in Bird of Paradise in the exact phrase search box and then search for the date range from 1/1/1931 to 1/1/1934. This would provide you with some news articles from when the movie was first released.

Note: If you try to look at any of the results for New York Times articles, you will be prompted to pay for the article. You should not pay for any articles. Ask a librarian for assistance, and a librarian can find the article in microfilm or another method.

Websites
This is a small sampling of websites you may find helpful while you research. Critically evaluate any information that you find online.

mediahistoryproject.org/collections/


The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.

Click on the link for The Film Daily and click on read for each of the volumes listed for the year 1932 to find information about the movie "Bird of Paradise." Search within each of the 1932 volumes for "Bird of Paradise" in quotation marks to find results for articles and advertisements about the movie. It does take a few minutes for the search results to appear.

Click on the link to read the 1933 volumes of The Film Daily and search for "She Done Him Wrong" to find the mentions of this movie. It takes a few minutes for the search results to appear.

If you are having trouble reading any of The Film Daily, switch to reading it one page at a time and use the tool to zoom in.

There are many other publications on The Media History Digital Library site that could be useful for Bird of Paradise and She Done Him Wrong as well as other films you may be researching for this course.

Try searching in different publications for the names of movies for the years the movies were released.


Film Studies Guides from Other Libraries
http://guides.library.ucla.edu/film: UCLA Film and Television Guide

http://guides.library.yale.edu/film: Yale Film Studies Research Guide

http://guides.library.jhu.edu/film: Johns Hopkins Film and Media Studies Guide

http://research.library.gsu.edu/film: Georgia State University Film Studies Guide

http://guides.hcl.harvard.edu/filmresearch: Film Research at Harvard Guide

http://www.bu.edu/library/guide/film/: Boston University Film and Television Guide

Search Millsaps Film Collection

Search the Millsaps Library Catalog for VHS and DVD videos.  Many may be checked out by students for 3 days.  Some are in-library use only.  Ask at the library main desk and we will get them for you.

Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Film Reviews
For older films, try the Film Review Index - Reference PN 1995 .F5
Browse Library Books
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.