Millsaps College


Finding Millsaps Library's eBooks
eBook Academic - an eBook subscription collection from Ebsco Restricted Resource
The library recently subscribed to an eBook collection that contains over 114,000 academic eBooks from EBSCO. This link is included in our list of databases. From the link above, or by using the link in the list of databases, it is possible to search within the EBSCO eBook collection by entering keywords in the search box. You may also "Browse by Category" by selecting a category from the column on the left.

It is also possible to find these eBooks in Big Search. The eBooks will show up in the results list for relevant searches. While searching in Big Search, you can limit to just eBooks by clicking "Limit by Type of Resources" on the left side of the screen, and then click the check box next to eBooks, if available. It may be necessary to click "Show More" to find the option for eBooks.

EBSCO has a webpage with information about their eBooks. This page includes FAQs, Help Sheets, Tutorials, and User Guides. The User Guide is a good introductory guide to using the EBSCO eBooks.

Netlibrary
The library has a collection of 500 eBooks from Netlibrary that were purchased in 2001 that also appear as search results in Big Search and the library catalog.

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource
We also have dozens of electronic reference books in the database Oxford Reference online. This database offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.
How to read eBooks without Downloading
Any of the eBooks the library has access to can be read on a screen without the need to download the book. For many of the available eBooks, the eBook can also be downloaded.

eBooks Result List
  1. Click the eBook Full Text link to read the book in the eBook Viewer tool.

  2. Click the Download (Offline) link to check out the book and read it on your computer using Adobe Digital Editions. (See How to Download an eBook to a Computer below)

  3. Click the Table of Contents link to view the chapters of an eBook. You can go directly to a chapter in the eBook Viewer tool by clicking on a hyperlinked chapter.
  4. Note: Sections in the Table of Contents with a plus sign (+) can be expanded further by clicking the plus sign.
Reading an eBook without downloading it (clicking the eBook Full Text link):

eBook Viewer Tool

In the top toolbar of the eBook Viewer, you can click the Back, New Search, or Exit links to check in the eBook after you have finished viewing it.

Included in the Tools column on the right, are tools that allow you to search within the text of the eBook and save a note on the eBook in your My EBSCOhost folder.

  • Search Within eBook - Click the magnifying glass icon to search for terms within the eBook.

  • Create a Note icon - Click the note icon to create a note about the eBook or a page of the eBook and save it to your personal folder.

  • Dictionary Icon - Click the dictionary icon to search for definitions of words in the eBook you are reading.

Using the eBook Viewer Toolbar

Viewer Toolbar

  • Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.

  • Fit Page Width: Click the icon to fit the page by width in the viewing area.

  • Fit Page: Click the icon to view the entire page in the viewing area.

  • Zoom Out: Click the icon to zoom out on the page.

  • Zoom In: Click the icon to zoom in on the page.

Viewer Toolbar

  • Location Slider: Drag the location slider right or left to go to a specific page of the eBook. The left and right arrows on either side of the slider bar take you to the beginning or end of the eBook. The page number updates in the Page Navigation box as you drag the location slider.

  • Page Navigation: Use the page navigation arrows to move up or down one page at a time or enter a page number in the field provided and click Go.

How to Download an eBook to a Computer

If an eBook offers the Download option, you may choose to download the eBook to your computer and read it offline at a later time.

Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing. This free software can be downloaded from this link.

To download an eBook:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

    Downloading an     eBook

    If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so. If you do not have a My EBSCOhost account, you can create one for free by clicking on "Create a new Account".

  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu (you can select from between 1 and 7 days) and click the Checkout & Download button.

    Note: For some titles, you may see the option to select either the PDF or ePub format for an eBook.

    Downloading an eBook

    The eBook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface.

  3. Select to Open or Save the file from the resulting dialog box.

    If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.

    If you Save the file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.

  4. When a downloaded eBook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe® Digital Editions.
     

Note: There are no late fees for eBooks. When the checkout period you selected has finished, the eBook will automatically be checked in without any late fees. You should be able to check the book out again at any time after it has been returned. Some of the library's eBooks can only be checked out by a certain number of users at a time, but many have unlimited checkouts.

Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

E-mailing or Printing eBook Pages

Up to 60 pages of an eBook can be e-mailed or printed per user as a PDF file from within the eBook Full Text viewer.

Note: The number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.

To save or print eBook pages as a PDF:

  1. Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.

  2. Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to save or print and click the E-mail or Print icon in the right column.

    The E-Mail PDF or Print PDF menu is displayed.

  3. Select to e-mail or print:

    • Current Page: E-mail or print only the page you are viewing.
    • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to 60) in the field provided.
    • This Section (usually a chapter): Select to e-mail or print the entire section of the eBook. (If available to select)
  4. Select:

    • Send as an E-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself.
    • Print PDF: To send the selected pages to your printer.

Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices such as the Nook or Kindle. Consult your device's user manual for instructions on how to manually transfer files to the device.

Devices compatible with EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks are compatible with for the following eBook Readers:

  • Apple (iOS) Devices such as iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch
  • Sony eReader Touch Edition
  • Barnes & Noble Nook
  • All eBook Readers supporting the Adobe eBook DRM

EBSCO eBooks are compatible with the following mobile apps:

  • Bluefire Reader apps for iOS and Android devices
  • Aldiko app for Android devices
  • Txtr app for iPhone and Android devices
  • All apps supporting the Adobe eBook DRM

EBSCO eBooks are compatible with all devices and apps supporting Adobe eBook DRM, a standard used by most popular eBook providers, including Google Play. A complete list of Adobe eBook DRM compatible devices and apps is available here.


Downloading eBooks on Apple Devices
eBooks can be downloaded and read using an Apple device (iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad) using the Bluefire reading app available for free from iTunes.

Install Bluefire Reading App

Install the Bluefire Reader Version 1.2 onto your device. Bluefire is available for free from iTunes at the following link:

Bluefire Reader via iTunes

Create an Adobe ID

Create an Adobe Digital Editions ID at the following link:

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/membership/index.cfm?nf=1&nl=1&loc=en_us

Note: Before downloading an eBook, you must authorize the Bluefire app with your Adobe ID.

Checkout and Download an eBook

Next, use the Safari browser on your device to access EBSCO eBooks and locate an eBook you would like to download to the device.

To download an eBook:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

    If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you will be prompted to do so.

  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

    The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder.

  3. When prompted, tap to open the eBook with the Bluefire app.

    The Bluefire app opens and begins downloading the book.

  4. After the eBook is finished downloading, select Read Later or Read Now to open your eBook and begin reading.