Millsaps College


Guide to Business Resources

This guide is intended to help you access business databases, journals, and resources at the Millsaps-Wilson Library.


You can access databases from off-campus with your Millsaps username and password.


If you need research help, drop by the front desk, e-mail us at librarian@millsaps.edu, or call us at 601-974-1073.

Top Business Databases

ProQuest

Search New York Times & Wall Street Journal 1984-Today

Enter your search terms:
Mergent Online - Financial information, directory data, and histories for public companies worldwide from 1991 to the present, and industry reports from 2003 to the present. Individual and comparative company and industry financial information and ratios can be created and downloaded for statistical analysis. Includes EDGAR reports.
Westlaw Campus Research offers comprehensive full text of statutes, case law materials, public records, and other legal resources, along with current news articles and business information. Also includes Hoover's Company Records.
Oxford Reference Online

Economics Dictionaries and Reference Books
Oxford Reference Online -- Economics

Business and Management Dictionaries and Reference Books
Oxford Reference Online - Business and Management
 
All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Hoover's Company Profiles, via Westlaw Restricted Resource Some full text available

Coverage Varies by company. This database contains the most recent profile report available from Hoover's for more than 41,000 public and private companies (approximately 29,000 U.S. companies and 12,000 non-U.S. companies; 13,000 public and 21,000 private).

Click "Hoover's Company Profiles"


WestlawNext Campus Research Restricted Resource Some full text available

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Accounting, A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Economics, A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, A Dictionary of Human Resource Management, The Handbook of International Financial Terms

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Statistics/Data

Value Line Online, Library Elite Restricted Resource

Value Line Online Library Elite covers over 3,500 stocks, including 1,800 small and mid-cap companies. Included are online full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety Ranks. Users can customize Value Line reports to match their investment objectives.


note: The subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Browse Journals

Browse journal titles -
0  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z
 

If we do not have the journal you are looking for,
use Interlibrary Loan to request the journal article you need.

      Popular Business Journals



Top 40 Business Journals

This list, arranged by discipline, comprises the top forty business academic journals, as identified by the Financial Times (as noted by FT in the list below) in its rating of business school scholarly productivity; this list also includes the twenty journals used by Business Week (as noted by BW) in a similar rating system. In all, there are forty-three journals on this combined list.

Accounting:

      Accounting, organizations and society   (FT)
      Accounting review   (BW, FT)
      Journal of accounting and economics   (FT)
      Journal of accounting research   (BW, FT)

Economics:

      American economic review   (BW, FT)
      Econometrica (FT)
      Journal of political economy   (FT)
      Rand journal of economics   (FT)

Entrepreneurship:

      Entrepreneurship theory and practice   (FT)
      Journal of business venturing   (FT)

Finance:

      Journal of finance   (BW, FT)
      Journal of financial and quantitative analysis   (FT)
      Journal of financial economics   (BW, FT)
      Review of financial studies   (FT)

General Management:

      Academy of Management journal   (BW, FT)
      Academy of Management review   (BW, FT)
      Journal of international business studies   (FT)
      Management international review   (FT)
      Strategic management journal   (BW, FT)

Human Resource Management:

      Human resource management   (FT)
      International journal of human resource management   (FT)
      Personnel psychology   (BW)

Marketing:

      Journal of consumer research   (FT)
      Journal of marketing   (BW, FT)
      Journal of marketing research   (BW, FT)
      Marketing science   (FT)

Operations, IT, and Supply Chain Management:


      Information systems research   (BW, FT)
      Journal of business logistics   (BW)
      Journal of operations management   (FT)
      Management science   (BW, FT)
      MIS quarterly   (FT)
      Operations research   (BW, FT)
      Production and operations management   (BW)

Organizational Behavior:

      Journal of applied psychology   (FT)
      Organization science   (FT)
      Organizational behavior and human decision processes   (FT)

Practitioners:

      Academy of Management perspectives   (FT)
      California management review   (BW, FT)
      Harvard business review   (BW, FT)
      MIT Sloan Management Review   (BW, FT)

Other:

      Administrative science quarterly   (FT)
      Journal of business ethics   (BW, FT)
      Journal of the American Statistical Association   (FT)

Browse Library Books by Subject
Business Books are normally shelved in the Social Sciences and Business section Call Numbers beginning with H on the Third Floor in the stack tier.
To find books by title, author or keyword, search the
Millsaps Library Catalog which provides access to scholarly books and resources found in the Millsaps Library.


If you can't find the books you need at Millsaps, you can use http://millsaps.worldcat.org to find books and have them delivered.
When you find a book that looks interesting, click on it's title to read about it.  If you would like to get it delivered, click the orange "Request via Interlibrary Loan button" - the book will be delivered to the library and we will email you when it arrives.  There is no charge to you as a student, but you will need to use it right away and return it because there are hefty fines if Interlibrary Loan books are late.