Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World Some full text available
A collection of materials related to the study of women and gender in the ancient world, including bibliographies, images, and some full-text.
Feminae : Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History Restricted Resource

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no other text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.


Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Images & Artifacts

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World Some full text available
A collection of materials related to the study of women and gender in the ancient world, including bibliographies, images, and some full-text.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Primary Sources

In the First Person Some full text available
Indexes letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within scholarly materials that are freely available on the Web and Alexander Street databases.
Women working Some full text available
More than 500,000 pages of historical documentation focusing on the role of women in the United States economy. The sources include books, pamphlets, manuscripts and images selected from Harvard’s library and museum collections.

Quotations

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Call Number or Subjec
Women's Studies books can be found all over the library, but many are in the HQ call numbers which are in the stack tier, third floor.

HQ Family; Marriage; Gender Studies
HQ 12-449 Sexuality
HQ 503-1064 Family, Marriage, Home
HQ 760-767 Family planning; Abortion
HQ 801 Relationships; Courtship
HQ 809 Family Violence
HQ 811-960 Divorce
HQ 1073 Death and Dying
HQ 1075 Gender Roles
HQ 1090 Men
HQ 1100-2030 Women, Feminism

Or you can browse by subject heading:
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.