Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Statistics/Data

American Factfinder Some full text available
Census Bureau portal to census data from approx. 1990-present.
County and City Databook
(Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
Detailed tables of Census data broken down by county and city. 2000 and 2007 versions available. Note: Census pdf files do not open with Internet Explorer.
Decennial Censuses: 1790-2000 Some full text available
 (Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/decennial/index.htm
Links to 1790-2000 decennial census publications as well as publications from other censuses, in PDF format. Note: Census pdf files do not open with Internet Explorer.
FedStats Some full text available
This website is an index to federal statistical information available on the Web. Users can search for information by Topic, Map Statistics, Agencies (that produce statistics), Subject, Statistical Collections, and many others.

http://www.fedstats.gov/


Health Statistics Some full text available
http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/health_statistics.html

University of Maryland prepared this guide to Health Statistics.


International Statistics Guide Some full text available
Many governments and international organizations are putting their statistical data on the Internet. The majority of the sources listed here are free-of-charge and accessible to anyone with access to the World Wide Web.  This guide was put together by the University of Maryland at College Park, so there are a few sources that say UM that we cannot use. 

Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists Some full text available
Compiled by Cornell, this is a list of datasets available for free.

Intute: Statistics Some full text available
Portal to social statistical information available on the internet, on such broad categories as finance and markets, education, elections, public opinion, housing, nutrition and health, land and the environment, population, and even statistical theory.  Intute's focus is on the UK, but it does include some worldwide and American information.
PollingReport.com Some full text available
PollingReport.com is an independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Results of current polls from Gallup, Harris, National Public Radio and many others are included.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
 (Census Bureau)
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Digest of major statistics from many U.S. agencies including the Census Bureau since 1878.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Journals
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.