Google Scholar is a is a freely accessible web search engine that provides the full text and/or citations of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. You can find more information about it here.
It is not recommended to use Google Scholar as the only method for searching for articles since it is not comprehensive. It can be a helpful search tool to use in addition to other tools from the library. You can also find articles by searching in Big Search or in the library's databases.
It is possible to find articles from journals available at Millsaps while searching in Google Scholar. Click on the "Full Text @ Millsaps" link.
In addition to finding articles available at Millsaps, you can also find articles freely available online. To read these, click on the "[PDF] from..." or "[HTML] from..." link.
To access the advanced search options before you search, click on the arrow in the Google Scholar search box.
This will then open up a box with these options:
You can also choose to refine your search results after you have performed a search. These are the options on the left side of the results page:
You can specify a certain date range, choose whether to sort by relevance or date, and select or unselect to include patents and/or citations.
After you click on the "Cited by..." link, you will be brought to a page of results for publications that have cited the publication you selected. You may then be able to read some of these reults by clicking on the links to the publications, if available.
Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073
If you are on campus, you should be able to automatically access the full text of articles available at Millsaps.
If you are off campus, follow the directions in the "Off Campus Access to Google Scholar" box below.
1. Go to the Google Scholar page.
2. In the upper right of the page you will see a link to Scholar Settings.
3. Go to Library Links and type in Millsaps.
4. Select Full Text @ Millsaps. Save your preferences.
To have your preferences saved for the next time you use Google Scholar, make sure to sign in with your Google account.
The information from a citation in Google Scholar can be used to fill out the appropriate Interlibrary Loan request form.
Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.


J.B. Cain Archives
College Archives