Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
WestlawNext Campus Research Restricted Resource Some full text available

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online

The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) is a structured vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture.

The TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included along with approximate coordinates intended for reference only.


Midwest Political Science Association Archive Some full text available
This is the MPSA conference paper retrieval and submission system. Here you can access papers delivered at the MPSA Annual National Conference from 2004 to the present.
National Conference of State Legislatures Some full text available
The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that provides information to the legislators of the 50 states and lobbies Congress on the behalf of states. The NCSL Web page is an extensive, free source of news, reports, legislation highlights, policy statements, and analyses on state and federal issues such as budget, elections, environment, health, immigration, labor, and welfare reform.
Political Research Online (PROL) Some full text available
PROL is a pre-print server that serves as the common resource for all emerging scholarship in political science.
United States Institute of Peace Some full text available
Its site is an essential resource for the researcher of peace and conflict studies. It is full of information--daily news updates, special reports, briefings, all sorts of facts and figures--that can assist users in understanding a world in conflict.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Politics & Social Sciences Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, Oxford Guide to Countries of the World, A Dictionary of Geography, The Oxford Companion to the Mind, A Dictionary of Political Biography, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, A Dictionary of Psychology, Dictionary of the Social Sciences, A Dictionary of Sociology, The Oxford Guide to the United States Government

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.
History of the Supreme Court Encyclopedia Some full text available
A part of the History of the Supreme Court PBS series site, this encyclopedia is searchable and offers general information about the Court, judges, important legal concepts, and landmark cases.

Government Information

GPO Access -- Federal Government Information
Full text access to Federal government information.
Mississippi Government Agencies
Links to Mississippi state government agency web sites.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Primary Sources

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive Resource contains audio Some full text available
This multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. The Library's digital archive on the American presidency is more than 3 terabytes in size and growing.
Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


National Security Archive Some full text available

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.


Statistics/Data

Foreign Information by Country Some full text available
A well organized collection of foreign country information websites put together by the University of Colorado, Boulder's Government Publications Library.  Information can be accessed by country or by resource.

Foreign Information by Country Some full text available
A well organized collection of foreign country information websites put together by the University of Colorado, Boulder's Government Publications Library.  Information can be accessed by country or by resource.

University of Virginia's Historical Census Browser
The University of Virginia's Historical Census Browser allows users to examine state and county topics for individual census years, examine state and county topics over time, and generate maps of selected historical data.

The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. Data is available for census years 1790 through 1960.
GeoHive: Global Statistics Some full text available
GeoHive is an international site with geopolitical data, including population statistics of regions, countries, provinces and cities. In addition, there are statistics on economic factors like wealth, infrastructure, natural phenomena and more.
PollingReport.com Some full text available
PollingReport.com is an independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Results of current polls from Gallup, Harris, National Public Radio and many others are included.
Population Reference Bureau Datafinder Some full text available
The Population Reference Bureau Datafinder provides U.S. and international data on population, education, health, and the environment. Data can be displayed as rankings, maps, or bar graphs.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.