Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

SciFinder Restricted Resource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. 

Our license is for one simultaneous user, so be sure to logout when you are finished searching.

 You must create an account before you can use SciFinder. 

From Off-Campus you will need to login twice:
1.  Go to http://ezproxy.millsaps.edu/login?url=https://Scifinder.cas.org and login to the Library's off-campus server with your Millsaps Username and password
2. You will be prompted with a security warning referring to an “untrusted certificate” or an “untrusted site.”  It is okay to accept the security exception for this library database.  In Firefox, click the "Add exception" button and then click the "Confirm Security Exception."  In Internet Explorer, click "Continue to this website (not recommended). " and then click Yes in the box that pops up.
3. You will be taken to SciFinder.  Login to SciFinder with your Scifinder username and password.
 

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

American Institute of Physics
Scitation offers close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners. It offers some full text.


Clase/Periodica Restricted Resource
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2005. Each January, another year is added to the archive.


Web Sites

NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies Some full text available
These Web pages for NASA's Goddard Institute for Space Studies provide a wealth of scientific material on global climate change. Scientific reports and science briefs with detailed graphics are updated regularly and archived here. The research section describes the scope of research at GISS with links to scientific papers from 2003 to the present. The section on data and images includes excellent graphics and animations that display data and model results. A database of scientific documents covering the last 40 years is searchable via keyword, title, author, and other identifiers.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Some full text available
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Scirus
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Physical Sciences & Mathematics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Astronomy, A Dictionary of Chemistry, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics, A Dictionary of Physics, A Dictionary of Scientists, A Dictionary of Statistics, A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Government Information

Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Call Number or Subjec
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.