Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource

Philosopher's Index provides citation information and abstracts for journal articles and books published from 1940 to present. The database indexes material on the philosophy of various disciplines and philosophy-related subjects including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics and philosophical anthropology. 

NOTE:  July 2, 2008 -- We now get Philosopher's Index from Ebsco instead of Silverplatter.  The content is the same, but the interface is different.  Let us know if you have any questions.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. PhilPapers monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. They also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues and contains more than one million bibliographic records. ATLA serials which is also included in our subscription provides links to 100,000 full text articles.

Web Sites

Ethics Updates Some full text available
Ethics Updates is designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. It is intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
PhilSci Archive Some full text available
An electronic archive for preprints in the philosophy of science. It is offered as a free service to the philosophy of science community. The goal of the Archive is to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.

Bibliographies

L'Annee philologique Restricted Resource

Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, this is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Originally available in print form only, this database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928


L'Annee philologique covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.


Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.


Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Religion & Philosophy Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of the Bible, The Oxford Companion to the Bible The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Electronic Books/Online Books

Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE. It contains general entries on medieval philosophers and medieval philosophies and on the key terms and concepts in the subject area, but it also provides more in-depth details and analyses of particular theories. Furthermore, in order to gain an insight into the social and cultural context of the material, entries are included on the teaching of philosophy, the career of philosophers, and the place of philosophy within the universities.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. PhilPapers monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. They also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.
Oxford Reference Online -- Religion & Philosophy Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of the Bible, The Oxford Companion to the Bible The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) Some full text available
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is an online dynamic philosophy reference resource that is free and open access, allowing the education community to share and read for free the writings of the finest experts in their fields.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Call Number/Subject
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.