Millsaps College


All Items by Source

DVDs

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Web Sites

Homeland Security Digital Library Some full text available
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets.
Coverage Dates: - present

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Human Rights Restricted Resource Some full text available
The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Print Reference Sources

Reference Books in Peace Studies
Print Location: Reference Room Some full text available


The Oxford international encyclopedia of peace
JZ5533 .O95 2010 Volumes 1-4

Biographical dictionary of modern peace leaders
JX1962.A2 B56 1984

Encyclopedia of human rights issues since 1945
JC571 .L2747 1999

The Oxford international encyclopedia of peace / Nigel Young, editor. JZ5533 .O95 2010

Seeds of peace : a catalogue of quotations / compiled by Jeanne Larson & Madge Micheels-Cyrus.
JX1937 .S43 1986

War and peace through women's eyes : a selective bibliography of twentieth-century American women's fiction
/ Susanne Carter. PS374.W6 C27 1992

World encyclopedia of peace / honorary editor-in-chief, Linus Pauling, executive editors, Ervin Laszlo, Jong Youl Yoo. JX1944 .W67 1986
Education Department Library
The education department has a library of books (and a few dvds) on conflict resolution education and peace education that are available for Millsaps students and faculty to use. The library is in the Education department commons area. Contact Dr. Stacy DeZutter for more information.
Browse Books by Subject
Books related to Peace Studies will be found throughout the library, but can often be found in these sections which are on the third floor - west side of the building (outside the Millsaps room and along the windows).
JC - Political theory. Theory of the state.
JF - Constitutional History and administration.
JK - United States
JL - British America. Latin America.
JN - Europe
JQ - Africa. Asia. Australia. Oceania.
JV - Colonies and colonization.
JX - International law. International Relations.
JZ - International Relations.
K - Law
KZ - Law of Nations


Listed below are some Library of Congress subject headings associated with peace studies to get you started:

Arbitration, International
Arms control
Conflict management
Disarmament
Human Rights
International Relations
Mediation
Mediation International
Nuclear Arms Control
Peace
Peace Movements
Peace Religious Aspects
Peace Treaties
religion and peace
Social Conflicts
United States Foreign Relations
United States Foreign Relations Treaties
Women and Peace

Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.