Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

American Chemical Society Web Editions Restricted Resource Some full text available

This online archive lets you search the full text of all titles published by ACS in the past five years.


Highwire Some full text available
Full-text of 332 leading journals in life science.
MDX Health Digest Restricted Resource
Digest of medical and health information for consumers.
Pubmed (Medline)
Abstracts of articles in all areas of medicine. PubMed Coverage PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as: * The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. * Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. * Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

Web Sites

National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Some full text available
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Scirus
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Government Information

Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Statistics/Data

National Center for Health Statistics Some full text available
The primary agency for American health statistics.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Subject
Books about Nursing are often in the R call number ranges on the third floor, west wing.
Browse Journals
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.