Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Art Index Restricted Resource

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more. 


Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 2,200 scholarly business journals. The interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.


RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines. Dating from 1967 through the present, this database offers indexing of sources published in over 140 languages.

Web Sites

IN Harmony: Sheet Music
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Funded through a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), IN Harmony features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state.
Beethoven-Haus Bonn Digital Archives Resource contains images Some full text available

The Digital Archives contains the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus: Music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures.


Classical Music Navigator Some full text available
Information is arranged in 5 categories: a composers list of basic data, major works; a list of works sorted by musical genre; composers listed by geographical area; an index of forms and styles for each composer; and a glossary.
Digital Mozart Edition Some full text available
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
Library of Congress: Music, Theater & Dance Some full text available
Browse the Library of Congress's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials.

Audio Files

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
(THIS SUBSCRIPTION IS LIMITED TO 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.) Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. As of September 1, 2007, it offers streaming access to more than 17,000 CDs with more than 250,000 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month.

The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course, Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Performing Arts Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre, The Oxford Dictionary of Dance, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera, Who's Who in Opera The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Handbooks & Guides

Companion to Theatre and Performance Restricted Resource

This Oxford Companion is based on the celebrated Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, and covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions; it has a particularly strong focus on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers. New entries cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the Encyclopedia. The Companion includes all the most popular and accessible information from the Encyclopedia, concentrating primarily on the personalities involved in producing threatre, as well as overviews of the genres within which they work. It has 2,400 entries presented in a far more compact and portable format. The timeline of historical and cultural events in the world of theatre and performance has been significantly updated, along with the extensive bibliography.


Grove Book of Opera Singers Restricted Resource

The most comprehensive guide to opera singers ever produced, this volume offers an alphabetically arranged collection of authoritative biographies that range from Marion Anderson (the first African American to perform at the Met) to Benedict Zak (the classical tenor and close friend and colleague of Mozart). Readers will find fascinating articles on such opera stars as Maria Callas and Enrico Caruso, Ezio Pinza and Fyodor Chaliapin, Lotte Lehmann and Jenny Lind, Lily Pons and Luciano Pavarotti. The profiles offer basic information such as birth date, vocal style, first debut, most memorable roles, and much more. But these articles often go well beyond basic biographical information to offer colourful portraits of the singer's personality and vocal style, plus astute evaluations of their place in operatic history and many other intriguing observations. Many entries also include suggestions for further reading, so that anyone interested in a particular performer can explore their life and career in more depth. The articles are mostly drawn from the acclaimed Grove Music Online and have been fully revised, and the book is further supplemented by more than 40 specially commissioned articles on contemporary singers.


Oxford Companion to the American Musical Restricted Resource

With more than two thousand entries, this guide offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. Biographical entries range from early stars Fred Astaire, Bing Crosby, Mary Martin, and Mae West to contemporary show-stoppers Nathan Lane, Savion Glover, and Kristin Chenoweth, while composers Irving Berlin, George Gershwin, Richard Rodgers, and Andrew Lloyd Webber all have articles, and the choreography of Bob Fosse, Tommy Tune, and Debbie Allen receives due examination. The plays and films covered range from modern hits like Mamma Mia! and Moulin Rouge! to timeless classics such as Yankee Doodle Dandy and Show Boat. Also, numerous musicals written specifically for television appear throughout, and many entries follow a work - Babes in Toyland for example - as it moves across genres, from stage, to film, to television. The Companion also includes cross references, a comprehensive listing of recommended recordings and further reading, a useful chronology of all the musicals described in the book, plus a complete index of Tony Award and Academy Award winners.


Online Music and Video
  • Naxos Music Library Campus Faculty, Staff and Students only Resource contains audio
    (THIS SUBSCRIPTION IS LIMITED TO 5 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.) Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. As of September 1, 2007, it offers streaming access to more than 17,000 CDs with more than 250,000 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month.

    The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course, Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.

  •  
  • British Library Archival Sound Recordings
    Explore 44,500 selected recordings of music, spoken word, and human and natural environments. Of particular interest will be classical music, jazz and popular music, sound recording history, and world and traditional music collections. Not all recordings are available worldwide; searching may be limited to freely-available recordings only if desired.
  •  
  • Global Music Archive - Vanderbilt University
    The Global Music Archive is a multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. It is a public facility that promotes education in African and American traditional and popular music through its own activities and by supporting the activities of others. The archive is housed within the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library in Vanderbilt University’s Blair School of Music.
  •  
  • Internet Archive Audio Archive
    Welcome to the Archive's audio and MP3 library. This library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.
Find Scores
Scores are normally located in the M call number range on the third floor in the west wing, just outside the Eudora Welty room.

Search our collection of musical scores. Type the Composer, Title or Genre of music in the box below.


 

  • International Music Score Library Project
    LOCATION: http://imslp.org/wiki/Main_Page
    The most comprehensive collection of public domain printed music on the Internet, in wiki format. Availability of scores depends on what users have uploaded.
  • Choral Public Domain Library
    LOCATION: http://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
    The choral counterpart to IMSLP, containing public domain choral music uploaded to the CPDL wiki by users.

 

Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Find Music Books at Millsaps
Music books are located in the M call number range on the third floor, west wing.
Browse Music Journals
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.