Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Clase/Periodica Restricted Resource
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Library of Congress Handbook of Latin American Studies Some full text available
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.  Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 books and articles for inclusion in the Handbook.
Literary Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, ContinuumEncyclopedia of Children’s Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™, and much more.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Modern Language Association's International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.

Dictionaries

Diccionario de la Real Academia Española Some full text available
This dictionary is a monolingual, electronic Spanish dictionary and is a useful resource for studying the history of the Spanish language.
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.
Oxford Reference Online -- Bilingual Dictionaries Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: English-French
4/e
The Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English
4/e
The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary: English-German 4/e
The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary: German-English 4/e
The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary: English-Italian 4/e
The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary: Italian-English 4/e
The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: English-Latin 3/e
The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: Latin-English 3/e
The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary: English-Spanish 4/e
The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English 4/e

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Electronic Books/Online Books

Biblioteca virtual Miguel de Cervantes Some full text available
The Miguel de Cervantes Virtual Library is the world's biggest digital library of Spanish and Latin American texts. The primary aim of the project is the digitisation, cataloguing and placing online of 30,000 works in Spanish. Works and authors are accessible via browseable catalogues (in alphabetical order) and a search engine (by title; author; genre and period).

Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.