Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource

Index to journal articles (and some material in books) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Art Index Restricted Resource

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more. 


ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues and contains more than one million bibliographic records. ATLA serials which is also included in our subscription provides links to 100,000 full text articles.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Web Sites

Buddhist Art and the Trade Routes Some full text available
Asia Society Museum's web site includes information about Buddhism and its imagery.
Islamic Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art Some full text available
This website is conceived as a companion to the Islamic galleries at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Intended as a general introduction to Islamic art, it draws upon examples from the museum’s comprehensive collection, which includes works from an area extending from southern Spain to Central Asia, ranging in date from the seventh through the nineteenth century.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online -- Art & Architecture Books Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture 2/e
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists 4/e
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms 2/e
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art 2/e
A Dictionary of Modern Design

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.


Encyclopaedia Judaica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to Americana and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
Oxford Reference Online -- Religion & Philosophy Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of the Bible, The Oxford Companion to the Bible The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Images & Artifacts

ARTstor Resource contains images Some full text available

ARTstor offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library’s content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor’s software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.


CDRI: Digital resources for the study of religion Resource contains images Some full text available

The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.


New Testament Gateway: Art & Images Resource contains images Some full text available

A collection of web pages with images relevant to the New Testament.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Tips

Professor: Dr. Lola Williamson

Course Code(s): IDST 1300 - Imagining the Divine

Semester: Spring 2008

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.