Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues and contains more than one million bibliographic records. ATLA serials which is also included in our subscription provides links to 100,000 full text articles.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Modern Language Association's International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
Perseus Digital Library Catalog

The Perseus Catalog is an attempt to provide systematic catalog access to at least one online edition of every major Greek and Latin author (both surviving and fragmentary) from antiquity to 600 CE. Still a work in progress, the catalog currently includes 3,679 individual works (2,522 Greek and 1,247 Latin), with over 11,000 links to online versions of these works (6,419 in Google Books, 5,098 to the Internet Archive, 593 to the Hathi Trust). The Perseus interface now includes links to the Perseus Catalog from the main navigation bar, and also from within the majority of texts in the Greco-Roman collection.

 


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Web Sites

Aeneid Resources Some full text available
Frequently asked questions and basic facts, modern views, e-texts, summaries and resources, and bibliography.
Epic of Gilgamesh Some full text available
An outline with bibliography and links.
Iliad Homepage Some full text available
Designed to help overcome some the common difficulties readers have with the Iliad.
Mahabharata Resources Some full text available
Links to bibliographies, electronic text, translations, and online articles.
Ovid Collection Some full text available
Various translations and an archive of textual and pictorial responses.
Ovid: Metamorphoses Some full text available
A searchable database with links to many resources.
Study Guide for Reading Homer's Iliad Some full text available
From the Department of Classics, Temple University.

Images & Artifacts

ARTstor Resource contains images Some full text available

ARTstor offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library’s content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor’s software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.


Print Reference Sources

Bulfinch’s Mythology
Print Location: REFERENCE BL311 B85 1993 Some full text available

Crowell’s Handbook of Classical Mythology
Print Location: REFERENCE BL303 T75 1970 Some full text available

Dictionary of Creation Myths
Print Location: REFERENCE BL325 C7 L44 1995 Some full text available

Early Greek Myth
Print Location: REFERENCE BL782 G34 1993 Some full text available

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities
Print Location: REFERENCE BL782 C67 2000 Some full text available

Goddesses in World Mythology
Print Location: REFERENCE BL473.5 A66 1993 Some full text available

Guide to the Gods
Print Location: REFERENCE BL473 L43 1992 Some full text available

Handbook of Classical Mythology
Print Location: REFERENCE BL723 H36 2004 Some full text available

New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology
Print Location: REFERENCE BL311 L33 1968 Some full text available

Who’s Who in Classical Mythology
Print Location: REFERENCE BL715 G68 1993 Some full text available

Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Subject
Tips

Professor: Dr. Michael Gleason

Email: gleasm@millsaps.edu

Course Code(s): IDST 1200 -
Core 2

Semester: Fall 2007

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.