Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Making of America (Cornell) Some full text available
Documenting American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction, Cornell University selected, scanned, and made available through the present system 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.
Making of America (University of Michigan) Some full text available
Documenting American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction, the University of Michigan selected, scanned, and made available through the present system approximately 1,600 books and ten journals with imprints primarily between 1850 - 1877.
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Center for History and New Media (George Mason University)
Brings together the most exciting and innovative digital media with the latest and best historical scholarship.
Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Feminae : Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
History Cooperative Some full text available
Search the latest issues of 21+ history jounals.
Library of Congress Handbook of Latin American Studies Some full text available
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.  Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 books and articles for inclusion in the Handbook.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource

Index to journal articles (and some material in books) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers

African Newspapers 1800-1922 Restricted Resource Some full text available

This groundbreaking online collection from Readex/NewsBank provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe, African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922.


Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA) Some full text available
This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Civil Rights Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web. The initiative promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement through its three principal components: 1) a digital video archive of historical news film, 2) a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library by connecting related digital collections on a national scale, and 3) a learning objects component delivering resources such as contextual stories, encyclopedia articles, lesson plans, and activities.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online

The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) is a structured vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture.

The TGN includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included along with approximate coordinates intended for reference only.


Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) - Full Online Version Restricted Resource

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.


Environmental History Resources Resource contains audio Some full text available
This website is intended to provide resources and information for scholars, students and anyone interested in environmental history. The site covers a wide range of topics reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of environmental history, including landscape history, forestry and land use, pollution and ideas and perceptions of nature.

Making the History of 1989
Making the History of 1989 provides access to vivid historical documents in English on the events of the period of transition that brought the Cold War to a close.  The site has three key features: a substantial collection of high quality primary sources; a set of multimedia interviews; and lesson plans and document based questions that provide historical context, tools, and strategies for teaching the history of 1989.
Victorian Web Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources, photographs, essays and links about the Victorian Era.
African studies Internet resources Some full text available
Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.
America at work, America at leisure: motion pictures from 1894-1915 Some full text available
This Internet site, part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection, offers an interesting selection of 150 motion pictures from 1894-1915.
America in the 1930s Some full text available
An introductory look at materials from the 1930s from the University of Virginia.
American Presidency Project Some full text available
Online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database: •The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913) •The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993) •The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Clinton - G.W. Bush (1993-2007)
An Gorta Mor: The Great Hunger Archive Some full text available
Features summaries and scanned copies of the original minute books of Killarney Workhouse in Kerry for 1845-48. Workshouses where where the sdestitute, sick and poor were sent.
Asian studies WWW virtual library Some full text available
ASVL offers an authoritative, large-scale, subject-oriented scholarly guide to over 10,000 Internet resources in Asian studies from around the globe, including archives, library catalogs, documents, bibliographies, electronic journals, registers, and mailing lists.
BlackPast.org Some full text available
BlackPast.org makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location. These materials include an online encyclopedia, complete transcripts of speeches, full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines, and four gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, major African American museums and research centers, and hundreds of other website resources on black history.
British History Online Resource contains images Some full text available

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.


Country Studies Some full text available
The Library of Congress's Country Studies series online. Includes 101 countries and regions, describing and analyzing the historical settings and social, political, economic and national security systems.
France in America=La France en Amérique. Some full text available
A bilingual digital library that houses books, maps, prints, and other documents, and provides an overview of the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th century to the end of the 19th century.
History Guide Some full text available
A subject gateway to history-related Web sties and primary sources. Many in German.
International Institute of Social History Some full text available
Covers the activities, collections, and selected publications of one of the most important historical organizations in the world dealing with labor history
LANIC Latin American Network Information Center Some full text available
The Center's primary purpose is to provide access to Internet sources for academic information about Latin America.
MuslimHeritage.com Some full text available
This Web site is sponsored by Britain's Foundation for Science, Technology and Civilisation. It contains many articles, some of them scholarly.
Theban Mapping Project Some full text available
The Theban Mapping Project site features a good collection of photographs and plans with explanations of the individual tombs; aerial maps and short audio files by Weeks with movies explaining the tombs and memorial temples (there are also text files); summaries of the history of exploration; and a search engine for types of decoration, architectural forms and components, data organized by ruler or dynasty or period, graffiti, image, and sarcophagus.

Electronic Books/Online Books

Digital Loeb Classical Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Digital Loeb Classical Library, from Harvard University Press, contains over 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts. Users can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content about Greek and Latin Classical history and literature.


Making of America (Cornell) Some full text available
Documenting American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction, Cornell University selected, scanned, and made available through the present system 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.
Making of America (University of Michigan) Some full text available
Documenting American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction, the University of Michigan selected, scanned, and made available through the present system approximately 1,600 books and ten journals with imprints primarily between 1850 - 1877.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric Restricted Resource

The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.


Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Restricted Resource

Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization.

The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial—such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.


Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome Restricted Resource

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths.


Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource

International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos, this landmark works stands at the busy intersection of history and the social sciences.

The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.


Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Restricted Resource

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is invaluable for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Encompassing the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods, the Encyclopedia covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region in fully cross-referenced, signed articles by the leading scholars in the discipline.


Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History Restricted Resource

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no other text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.


History of the Supreme Court Encyclopedia Some full text available
A part of the History of the Supreme Court PBS series site, this encyclopedia is searchable and offers general information about the Court, judges, important legal concepts, and landmark cases.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Images & Artifacts

Eugenics archive: image archive on the American eugenics movement Some full text available
A collection of historic photographs and images from the eugenics.
Mississippi Digital Library Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Mississippi Digital Library is the cooperative digital library program for the state. Its ultimate aim is to provide access to primary source materials covering a wide range of subject areas from Mississippi museums, archives, libraries, and historical societies.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Maps

16th- Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century.
Theban Mapping Project Some full text available
The Theban Mapping Project site features a good collection of photographs and plans with explanations of the individual tombs; aerial maps and short audio files by Weeks with movies explaining the tombs and memorial temples (there are also text files); summaries of the history of exploration; and a search engine for types of decoration, architectural forms and components, data organized by ruler or dynasty or period, graffiti, image, and sarcophagus.

Organizations

American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)
AASLH provides leadership and support for its members who preserve and interpret state and local history in order to make the past more meaningful to all Americans.

Primary Sources

ArchiveGrid Restricted Resource
ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.

Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.


Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History Resource contains audio Some full text available
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living.

Documenting the American South Some full text available
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It includes eleven thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.
EuroDocs: primary historical documents from Western Europe Some full text available
European primary historical documents are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance , and Abolition Some full text available
Provides a wealth of information on the history of Atlantic slavery and its aftermath. Over 200 primary documents.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.


Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection Some full text available

This site provides access to many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries.  Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection.


More perfect union: Japanese Americans and the U.S. Constitution Some full text available
Forced relocation and internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.
National Security Archive Some full text available

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.


Rutgers oral history archives of World War II Web Archive Some full text available
Over 250 oral history interviews, initially focused on alumni from Rutgers, the project has expanded to include others.
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive Resource contains audio Some full text available
This multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. The Library's digital archive on the American presidency is more than 3 terabytes in size and growing.
The Valley of the shadow: two communities in the American Civil War Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Valley of the Shadow is a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War. Here you may explore thousands of original documents that allow you to see what life was like during the Civil War for the men and women of Augusta and Franklin.
Veterans History Project Some full text available
Collection of wartime stories and memorabilia offers firsthand accounts detailing ordinary people's experiences serving in support roles and fighting in the US's 20th-century wars.
Victorian Web Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources, photographs, essays and links about the Victorian Era.
Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Statistics/Data

University of Virginia's Historical Census Browser
The University of Virginia's Historical Census Browser allows users to examine state and county topics for individual census years, examine state and county topics over time, and generate maps of selected historical data.

The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. Data is available for census years 1790 through 1960.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books Subject
History books can be found in the stack tier on the main level and second level in the following call number ranges:
Tips for subject searching in history:

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.