Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues and contains more than one million bibliographic records. ATLA serials which is also included in our subscription provides links to 100,000 full text articles.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource

Philosopher's Index provides citation information and abstracts for journal articles and books published from 1940 to present. The database indexes material on the philosophy of various disciplines and philosophy-related subjects including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics and philosophical anthropology. 

NOTE:  July 2, 2008 -- We now get Philosopher's Index from Ebsco instead of Silverplatter.  The content is the same, but the interface is different.  Let us know if you have any questions.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Web Sites

New Testament Gateway: Bibliography Some full text available
A collection of links to bibliographies for students beginning NT Greek.
New Testament Gateway: Fonts Some full text available
A collection of links to Greek Fonts.
New Testament Gateway: Grammars Some full text available
A collection of links to Greek Grammars.
New Testament Gateway: Greek New Testament Texts Some full text available
Collection of links to Greek New Testament Texts online.
New Testament Gateway: Language Some full text available
A collection of links to Language, Linguistics, Exegesis, Reviews.
New Testament Gateway: Learning New Testament Greek Some full text available
Collection of links to Learning New Testament Greek online.
New Testament Gateway: Lexica Some full text available
A collection of links to lexisa. In some you may browse the lexicon and listen to the pronunciation of each word.
New Testament Gateway: Septuagint Some full text available
A collection of links to resources for the Septuagint.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Religion & Philosophy Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of the Bible, The Oxford Companion to the Bible The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Judaica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to Americana and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
Oxford Reference Online -- Religion & Philosophy Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of the Bible, The Oxford Companion to the Bible The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible, A Dictionary of Buddhism, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) Some full text available
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is an online dynamic philosophy reference resource that is free and open access, allowing the education community to share and read for free the writings of the finest experts in their fields.

Images & Artifacts

ARTstor Resource contains images Some full text available

ARTstor offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library’s content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor’s software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.


New Testament Gateway: Art & Images Resource contains images Some full text available

A collection of web pages with images relevant to the New Testament.


Maps

New Testament Gateway: Maps Some full text available
A collection of web sites with maps of the ancient world.

Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.