Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

GeoRef Preview Database
American Geological Institute database consists of references to recent geoscience publications. Caution: This data is in process for inclusion in GeoRef. It may not yet have been indexed, given a translated title, or checked by a GeoRef editor when you see it.

SciFinder Restricted Resource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. 

Our license is for one simultaneous user, so be sure to logout when you are finished searching.

 You must create an account before you can use SciFinder. 

From Off-Campus you will need to login twice:
1.  Go to http://ezproxy.millsaps.edu/login?url=https://Scifinder.cas.org and login to the Library's off-campus server with your Millsaps Username and password
2. You will be prompted with a security warning referring to an “untrusted certificate” or an “untrusted site.”  It is okay to accept the security exception for this library database.  In Firefox, click the "Add exception" button and then click the "Confirm Security Exception."  In Internet Explorer, click "Continue to this website (not recommended). " and then click Yes in the box that pops up.
3. You will be taken to SciFinder.  Login to SciFinder with your Scifinder username and password.
 

American Chemical Society Web Editions Restricted Resource Some full text available

This online archive lets you search the full text of all titles published by ACS in the past five years.


American Institute of Physics
Scitation offers close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners. It offers some full text.


Clase/Periodica Restricted Resource
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Web Sites

Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE) Some full text available
NSF-funded clearinghouse of links to educational materials on the geosciences.
Digital library in Earth system education Some full text available
Cultural Atlas is designed to be a tool for visualizing and analyzing historical and cultural phenomena. Includes the capacity to create customized maps based on a theme, era and region of interest.
Globalchange.gov Some full text available
The gateway to global change data and information. A product of the Data and Information Working Group.
Intute Earth Sciences Gateway Some full text available
The Intute Earth Sciences Gateway provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. Our target audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Some full text available
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Scirus
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Earth & Environmental Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Earth Sciences, The Oxford Companion to the Earth, A Dictionary of Ecology, A Dictionary of Geography, The Oxford Companion to the Garden, The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea, A Dictionary of Weather

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Electronic Books/Online Books

EBSCO Academic E-Book Collection Restricted Resource
More than 113,000 titles are included in this package—all titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost.  eBooks can be viewed online or downloaded to computers or mobile devices. 

Subject coverage includes: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering and many others...

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Government Information

Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Maps

ECAI: electronic cultural atlas initiative
Cultural Atlas is designed to be a tool for visualizing and analyzing historical and cultural phenomena. Includes the capacity to create customized maps based on a theme, era and region of interest.
Geological Society of America Maps
Print Location: QE 71 G48 Some full text available
The library has numerous maps published by the Geological Society of America and the U.S. Geological Survey in the QE section of the library.
U.S. Geological Survey
Print Location: QE 78.5 G46 Some full text available
The library has numerous maps published by the Geological Society of America and the U.S. Geological Survey in the QE section of the library.

Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Formulating a Research Question
When you are starting your research, one of your first steps will be to formulate a question about your research project.

For example, say you are researching "Various aspects of fractures in New Zealand".

To create a robust search with a broad range of keywords, you should ask yourself 3 W's and an H: What, When, Where, and How.

For What, ask yourself what feature, formation, and rock type you are interested in. For this example, you could formulate these key words from asking what: Fracture, Stress, Joint, Fault, Carbonate rocks, Limestone, Dolomite, Sedimentary rocks

For When, you should ask yourself the time period you are interested in. For this example, you could formulate these key words from asking when: Cenozoic, Quaternary, Neogene, Miocene, Pilocene, Pleistocene

For Where, what geographic location are you interested in? Here you might list related countries, continents, or oceans. For this example, you could formulate these key words from asking where: New Zealand, Australasia, Pacific Ocean

For How, what process, implications, context, or related terms are applicable? For this example, you could formulate these key words from asking how: Streamflow, Fluid flow, Brittle deformation, Diagenesis, Earthquake, Hydrocarbons, Petroleum, Ground water, Rift zone

After following this method, you will have a list of keywords that you can use when you begin to conduct your searches.

The above information is from the Walter Geology Library
Select Geology Journals
Environmental Earth Sciences: 10/1/2009 to present

Economic Geology: located in the print periodicals section of the library at call number QE1 .E15. The library has v.53(1958) to present.

Geological Society of America Bulletin1/1/1945 to present. Also, located in the print periodicals section of the library at call number QE1 .G2. The library has v.52(1941) to present.

Journal of Sedimentary Research: 5/1/1931 to present. Also, located in the print periodicals section of the library at call number QE420 .J84X. The library has v.66(1996) - v.79(2009).

Tectonics: 1/1/2009 to present. Also, located in the print periodicals section of the library at call number QE601 .T392. The library has 1999 - 2008.
Browse Library Books Subject
Geology books can be found in call numbers beginning with QE and S on the third floor west wing, and in call numbers beginning with G in the middle level of the stack tier.
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.