Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
If you're on campus, you can access the full website http://chronicle.com without doing anything.  If you want to access The Chronicle off-site, you simply need to create a free account on their website using your Millsaps email address. To create you free account, go to Chronicle.com and click "Log In" link at top, right hand side of Web page.

The Chronicle’s free iPad app can be found here: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id414901678

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Based in Washington, D.C., The Chronicle has more than 70 writers, editors, and international correspondents.

Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.

Access Provided to the Millsaps community by the President's Office.


Making of America (Cornell) Some full text available
Documenting American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction, Cornell University selected, scanned, and made available through the present system 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.
WestlawNext Campus Research Restricted Resource Some full text available

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


Article First Restricted Resource
General periodical index based on tables of contents.
Making of America (University of Michigan) Some full text available
Documenting American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction, the University of Michigan selected, scanned, and made available through the present system approximately 1,600 books and ten journals with imprints primarily between 1850 - 1877.
World Cat Restricted Resource
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world.
OAIster Restricted Resource

OAIster currently provides access to 23,094,888 records from 1139 contributors.

OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. We provide access to these digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).


Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers

Campus Research, WestlawNext Restricted Resource Some full text available

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA) Some full text available
This site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
EbscoHost is the search interface to our largest full-text databases. 

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.

Directories

MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted Resource
Modern Language Association's Direcotry of periodicals. The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. This information has been gathered by the MLA staff with the cooperation of MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in these listings. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses database, Worldcat Restricted Resource
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses database Restricted Resource
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

Electronic Books/Online Books

EBSCO Academic E-Book Collection Restricted Resource
More than 113,000 titles are included in this package—all titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost.  eBooks can be viewed online or downloaded to computers or mobile devices. 

Subject coverage includes: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts, Literary Criticism, Medical, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering and many others...

Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Images & Artifacts

ARTstor Resource contains images Some full text available

ARTstor offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library’s content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor’s software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.


Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.