Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 2,200 scholarly business journals. The interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.


Business Wire News (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
Mergent Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Mergent Online is a fully searchable database with financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges. Coverage includes SEC filings, factsheets, insider holdings, institutional holdings, executive biographies, news, and Mergent Reports. This database is especially useful for company financial information, with data going back fifteen years. Customizable report tools are available and data can be downloaded in a variety of formats.


Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Accounting, A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Economics, A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, A Dictionary of Human Resource Management, The Handbook of International Financial Terms

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Government Information

EDGAR: SEC filings and forms Some full text available
Makes available information about companies, including most SEC filings, address, telephone number, state of incorporation, CIK number, SIC code, and fiscal year end.

Statistics/Data

International Trade Center Country Information Some full text available
The International Trade Centre, an organization that helps the business sectors of emerging and transition economies to develop exports, provides country-specific business information such as trade and market profiles and Country Maps on this site.
Corporate Filings
Executive Compensation

Compensation details are often buried in the company's Proxy Statement filed with the SEC. Start with the EDGAR Company Search and limit your results by Form Type "DEF 14A" (Schedule 14A is the definitive proxy statement). In many cases, these filings go back to 1993.
 

"Annual Report Surrogates"

Among the many surrogates or summaries of corporate financial information are these time-tested sources:

  • Mergent Online , the electronic version of the Mergent/Moody's Manuals, covers 22,000 public companies worldwide.
  • Compact D/SEC from Primark. On CD-ROM from 1993-1994. (Ask at the library front desk
  • Hoover's Handbooks (Reference HG4057 .A282) The detailed company profiles are now accessible via Westlaw Campus ResearchHoover's Company Records is a shortcut on the left menu and you can search by company name or ticker symbol.

 

SEC Filings

EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Refer to the Guide to SEC Filings from Thomson Research.

EDGAR Filings and Forms include 10-Ks (annual reports for US firms), 10-Qs (quarterly reports), 20-Fs (annual reports for foreign firms) and DEF 14As (proxy statements) of public companies from 1994 forward.

EDGAR documents are also available from:

Pre-EDGAR documents may be obtained from:

Extracts from 10-K reports and annual reports to shareholders may also be found on Compact D/SEC, a monthly series of CD-ROMs, with annual and quarterly data from 1993 to 1994.

Bonds
Municipal Bonds

Daily bond prices (as well as information on some historical transactions) are available from the Municipal Market At-A-Glance of the Bond Market Association.

Recent bond ratings for the 50 state governments and the city governments of most of the largest cities in the U.S. may be found on the Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Bond ratings for municipal and government bonds may be found by using the Advanced Bond Search on the Market Data Center of FINRA, the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority.


Treasury Securities

The Treasury International Capital System provies information on transactions and holdings of U.S. and foreign short-term and long-term securities by U.S. and foreign holders, much of it on a monthly basis.
 

Sources For Company Information

The Mergent Bond Record (Periodicals Section HG4905 .M78) and its competitor, the monthly Standard & Poor's Bond Guide, (Millsaps does not own), provide corporate debt ratings and information on specific debt issues.

Current bond prices are available from the Corporate Market At-A-Glance of the Bond Market Association.

Use Mergent Online  to see if there are any detailed bond profiles for your company - look under Company Details, Long Term Debt.

Yields for corporate Aaa and Baa rated bonds may be found on Table 1197: Bond Yields: 1990 to 2009 of the Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Corporate bond ratings from the three major agencies may be found by using the Advanced Bond Search on the Market Data Center of FINRA, the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority.

You can read the credit ratings definitions from Moody's Investors Service (registration required) or see a summary table from Bonds Online for the three major rating agencies.

 

Sources For Similarly-Rated Firms

You can refer to the Blue Pages in the old Moody's Manuals, (HG in the library 1 west) which are very detailed. The new Mergent Manuals do not have the blue pages, unfortunately. For yields by selected rating groups (Aaa and Baa only), refer to Selected Interest Rates from the Federal Reserve Board. Scroll down to the middle of the page to find the links for daily, weekly, monthly, and annual data.

Stocks
Sources For Industry Information

The single most useful source for industry-sector per-share data is the annual S&P Analysts' Handbook (Library Basement - HG 4519 .S772) which provides up to 30 years worth of information.

You can also refer to the industry sections of the Value Line binder at the libarary front desk. 

The monthly Standard & Poor's Statistical Service (Periodicals - HC106.7 .S75 ) provides selected current and historical statistics on 12 industries.


The Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (The latest Millsaps owns is 1998 - Stacks - HG4501 .S73) provides ten years of stock price (annual high and low) information as well as "tangible" book value per share.

The Mergent Handbook of Common Stocks (Reference - HG4905 .M815) also has stock price (annual price range) information for ten years, covering almost 1,000 firms.

Annual stock prices for about 1,700 companies are available in the Value Line - at the library front desk.

Historical stock quotes are available from:

  • Historical stock quotes for a company no longer in business can be found in the Daily Stock Price Record volumes.  Millsaps Library does not own the Daily Stock Price Record, but the main branch of the Jackson Hinds Library has these volumes in their reference area.  They can be found beginning at  R 332.6322 S785DA.
  • BigCharts Historical Quotes (close only - Jan 85+)
  • Historical Prices (Yahoo! Finance - open, high, low, close - Dec 81+)
  • Historical Stock Quotes (QuoteMedia - open, high, low, close - Jan 98+)

Create your own charts with SharpCharts from StockCharts.com. Other Free Charting Tools are also available at this site.
 

Sources of Risk Measurement (Equity Beta)

The beta for most publicly-traded firms is to be found in the annual Security Risk Evaluation published by Merrill Lynch. The 2004-2007 online editions are very large PDF files hosted by Rutgers University.

Beta values for about 1,700 companies are available in Value Line - at the library front desk.

The Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (The latest Millsaps owns is 1998 - Stacks - HG4501 .S73), began including betas with the Fall 1986 issue.

 

Dividends
Dividends and Payouts

Dividend payouts (and stock splits) may be found on the Historical Prices section of Yahoo! Finance.

Dividends paid and anticipated for about 1,700 companies are available in Value Line - at the library front desk.

The Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (The latest Millsaps owns is 1998 - Stacks - HG4501 .S73) provide ten years of dividend information.

The Mergent Handbook of Common Stock also has dividend payout information for 8-10 years. (Reference - HG4905 .M815)

Sometimes, the Wall Street Journal or the New York Times carry news of firms repurchasing shares.

The cost of repurchasing shares is reported in the cash flow statement within a corporation's annual financial statements. Mergent Online will provide up to 25 years of data.

You can also compare the number of shares outstanding over time by consulting the sources listed above for dividend information.


Money Markets

There are many different kinds of interest rates, including those for deposits and loans. The most common debt instruments referred to for risk-free rates are:

  • 3-month (13-week) Treasury Bills
  • 1-year Treasury Notes

The Latest Auction Data for these Government securities and other debt instruments may be found on Table 1.35 in the monthly Federal Reserve Bulletin online on:

  • FRED II, the Federal Reserve Economic Data database of the Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis.

For statistical data of all sorts, refer to the following print sources:

Business Statistics of the United States, Bernan Press, annual.
Stacks - HC101 .A13122 - Latest Millsaps owns is 2006

Statistical Abstract of the United States U.S. Government Printing Office, annual.
Reference - HA202.U5 S8

Ratio Analysis


D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios provides key ratios (at median, upper, and lower quartiles) for industries arranged by SIC number. The print version can be found in the library reference room. (Reference HF5681 .R25 I525 )

Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. (Reference - HF5681.R25 A44) Ratios, grouped by asset size, are listed for industries and product lines, by NAICS code beginning in 2002. Earlier editions used SIC numbers.

Standard & Poor's Analyst's Handbook: Composite Corporate Per Share Data by Industries. (Library Basement - HG 4519 .S772). Provides selected income statement items and ratios in relation to S&P stock price indexes. Up to thirty years of annual data are given for each industry.

Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) - Manufacturing, Mining and Trade Corporations. Presents estimated statements of income and retained earnings, balance sheets, and related financial and operating ratios.

Selected Industry Statistics and Financial Ratios are available for sole proprietorships, S-corporations, and corporations from BizStats.


Snapshots

For a quick profile of a public company's financial position, use one of the following:


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Subject
Finance books are normally located in call number range HG, which can be found on the third floor in the stack tier.
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.
Thanks
Parts of this guide created by Rutgers University Librarians and edited by Millsaps Librarians.