Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Art Index Restricted Resource

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more. 


Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for over 2,710 scholarly business journals. **A new interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.

Film Literature Index (Archive) Online
Index to backfiles of citations of film literature incl. international film, television and video. Citations from 1976 to 2001. There are no plans to update this online resource.
Library of Congress: Music, Theater & Dance Some full text available
Browse the Library of Congress's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials.

Print Reference Sources

Dictionary of film terms : the aesthetic companion to film analysis
Print Location: Reference - TR847 .B43 1994 Some full text available
Beaver, Frank Eugene.
Film Facts
Print Location: http://ezproxy.millsaps.edu/login?url=Reference - PN1993.45 .S75 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Steinberg, Cobbett.

Halliwell's film guide
Print Location: Reference - PN1993.45 .H27 1996 Some full text available


International Film Guide 2009 The Definitive Annual Review or World Cinema
Print Location: Reference - PN1993.3 .I545 2009


The Film encyclopedia
Print Location: Reference - PN1993.45 .K34 1998 Some full text available
Katz, Ephraim.
The International dictionary of films and filmmakers
Print Location: PN1997.8 .I58 1984 Some full text available


Search Millsaps Film Collection

Search the Millsaps Library Catalog for VHS and DVD videos.  Many may be checked out by students for 3 days.  Some are in-library use only.  Ask at the library main desk and we will get them for you.

Film Reviews
For older films, try the Film Review Index - Reference PN 1995 .F5
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.