Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

AGRICOLA
The National Agriculture Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
BioOne Restricted Resource Some full text available

BioOne includes the full-texts of bioscience research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.


GreenFILE Some full text available

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Environmental History Resources Resource contains audio Some full text available
This website is intended to provide resources and information for scholars, students and anyone interested in environmental history. The site covers a wide range of topics reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of environmental history, including landscape history, forestry and land use, pollution and ideas and perceptions of nature.

Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE) Some full text available
NSF-funded clearinghouse of links to educational materials on the geosciences.
Energy Information Administration Some full text available
Anyone wishing to learn just about anything concerning the energy industry, past, present, and future, need look no further than this US government site.
FAO forestry Some full text available
FAO is an organization of the UN.
Globalchange.gov Some full text available
The gateway to global change data and information. A product of the Data and Information Working Group.
NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies Some full text available
These Web pages for NASA's Goddard Institute for Space Studies provide a wealth of scientific material on global climate change. Scientific reports and science briefs with detailed graphics are updated regularly and archived here. The research section describes the scope of research at GISS with links to scientific papers from 2003 to the present. The section on data and images includes excellent graphics and animations that display data and model results. A database of scientific documents covering the last 40 years is searchable via keyword, title, author, and other identifiers.
TOXNET Some full text available
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine.
WildFinder Some full text available
WildFinder is a GIS tool for researching Earth's animals. The home page offers two approaches to the database. Search by Place allows users to zoom in on an ecoregion and generate a list of species that live there; Search by Species shows geographic distribution and is searchable by scientific or common name. You can also Search by Place.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Government Information

Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Statistics/Data

Intute: Statistics Some full text available
Portal to social statistical information available on the internet, on such broad categories as finance and markets, education, elections, public opinion, housing, nutrition and health, land and the environment, population, and even statistical theory.  Intute's focus is on the UK, but it does include some worldwide and American information.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Books by Subject
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.