Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

American Institute of Physics
Scitation offers close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners. It offers some full text.


Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text for over 2,710 scholarly business journals. **A new interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.

Clase/Periodica Restricted Resource
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
MathSciNet Restricted Resource
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940.

Web Sites

National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Some full text available
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Scirus
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
ThomasNet
ThomasNet, the online version of the Thomas Register and Thomas Regional print directories, is a rich source of information on industrial products and services.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Subject
Library books about engineering can be found on the third floor in the West Wing in the following call numbers:

T
- Technology (General)
TA - Engineering (General). Civil Engineering
TC - Hydraulic Engineering
TD - Environmental Technology. Sanitary Engineering
TE - Highway Engineering. Roads and Pavements
TF - Railroad Engineering and Operation
TG - Bridge Engineering
TH - Building Construction
TJ - Mechanical Engineering and Machinery
TK - Electronics and Electrical Engineering. Nuclear Engineering
TL - Motor Vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TN - Mining Engineering. Metallurgy

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.