Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 2,200 scholarly business journals. The interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.


Business Wire News (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
Econ Lit
Index to economic literature.
Guide to Economic Indicators
Print Location: REFERENCE HC103 .F9 2000 Some full text available
A print reference book located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.
Mergent Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Mergent Online is a fully searchable database with financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges. Coverage includes SEC filings, factsheets, insider holdings, institutional holdings, executive biographies, news, and Mergent Reports. This database is especially useful for company financial information, with data going back fifteen years. Customizable report tools are available and data can be downloaded in a variety of formats.


Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Bureau of Economic Analysis Some full text available
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Some full text available
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. With the strongest commitment to integrity and objectivity, the BLS is premier among statistical agencies, producing impartial, timely, and accurate data relevant to the needs of our users and to the social and economic conditions of our Nation, its workers, and their families.
FRASER Some full text available
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a Historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
RePEc
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 58 countries and 35 US states to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available.
WebEc Some full text available
Links to other economic resources on the World Wide Web.

Dictionaries

Lexicon of Economics
Print Location: REFERENCE HB61 .K57 1991 Some full text available
A print reference book located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Modern Economics: a Handbook of Terms and Organizations
Print Location: REFERENCE HB61 .M3 1983 Some full text available
A print reference book located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.
Oxford Reference Online -- Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Accounting, A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Economics, A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, A Dictionary of Human Resource Management, The Handbook of International Financial Terms

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Routledge Critical Dictionary of Global Economics
Print Location: REFERENCE HB61 .R68 1999 Some full text available
The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Global Economics A print reference book located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.
The New Palgrave: a Dictionary of Economics
Print Location: REFERENCE HB61 .N49 1987 Some full text available
A four-volume set of reference books located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Economic History: Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas
Print Location: REFERENCE HC103 .E52 Some full text available
A three-volume set of reference books located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.
Encyclopedia of Economics
Print Location: REFERENCE HB61 .E55 Some full text available
A print reference book located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.

Handbooks & Guides

Economic Indicators Handbook: Time Series, Conversions, Documentation
Print Location: REFERENCE HC101 .E385 Some full text available
A print reference book located in the reference room of the Millsaps-Wilson Library.

Statistics/Data

Value Line Online, Library Elite Restricted Resource

Value Line Online Library Elite covers over 3,500 stocks, including 1,800 small and mid-cap companies. Included are online full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety Ranks. Users can customize Value Line reports to match their investment objectives.


note: The subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Tips

Professor: Dr. Patrick Taylor

Email: taylopa@millsaps.edu

Course Code(s): ECON 2000 - 03

Semester: Fall 2007

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.