Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Article First Restricted Resource
General periodical index based on tables of contents.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 2,200 scholarly business journals. The interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.


Business Wire News (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Modern Language Association's International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES contains more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 35,000 searchable full text articles from 41 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.

NOTE:  Mobile phone users, try this link for a cleaner interface.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Index and abstracts to psychology and related journals. PsycINFO contains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers

African Newspapers 1800-1922 Restricted Resource Some full text available

This groundbreaking online collection from Readex/NewsBank provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe, African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922.


Clarion Ledger Indexes
Index to the Clarion-Ledger newspaper compiled by Eudora Welty Library staff.
New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric Restricted Resource

The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.


Government Information

GPO Access -- Federal Government Information
Full text access to Federal government information.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Organizations

International Communication Association
ICA is an academic association for scholars interested in the study, teaching, and application of all aspects of human and mediated communication.
National Communication Association
NCA is the oldest and largest national organization to promote communication scholarship and education.
Public Relations Society of America
The world's largest organization for public relations professionals.

Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Print Reference Sources

Dictionary of Marketing Terms
Print Location: --Reference HF5415.D4874 1995 Some full text available

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
Print Location: --Reference P87.5 .W38 2003 Some full text available


Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: communication from Ancient Times to the Information Age--
Print Location: Reference PN172.E53 1996 Some full text available

International Marketing Data and Statistics
Print Location: --Reference HA42.I56 Some full text available

Macmillan Dictionary of Marketing & Advertising
Print Location: --Reference HF5415.B273 1984 Some full text available

The Encyclopedia of Management
Print Location: --Reference HD19.H4 1982 Some full text available

World Consumer Lifestyles Databook: Key Trends
Print Location: --Reference HF5415.3.W67 Some full text available

Statistics/Data

Dataset Download | Pew Research Center Some full text available
The Pew Research Center for The People & The Press offers free access (with registration) to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997.

Datasets | Annenberg Public Policy Center
Browse datasets provided by the Annenberg Center.
PollingReport.com Some full text available
PollingReport.com is an independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. Results of current polls from Gallup, Harris, National Public Radio and many others are included.
Statistical Reports | Federal Communications Commission
From the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau.
The Data Consortium | Media Research Hub | Social Science Research Council
This community-editable database addresses provides information on media and communications datasets, including their research uses and terms of access.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Locating Books by Call Number

Most of the communication books are on the top floor/west wing in the P's. 

P87-96  Communications, Mass Media

P94.7 Interpersonal communication

P95-95.6 Oral communication, Speech

P99.5-99.6  Nonverbal communication

P300-305 Rhetoric

PN1990-1992.92  Broadcasting

PN1991-1991.9 Radio broadcasts

PN1992-1992.92 Television broadcasts

PN1993-1999 Motion pictures

PN4001-4355 Oratory

PN4699-5650 Journalism

There are also marketing/advertising books in the HE-HF section on the top floor in the stacks tiers.

HE7551-9722 Telecommunication

HF5410-5418 Marketing

HF5801-6182 Advertising

Library Map               
                           
How to use Call Numbers to find books in the library

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.