Millsaps College - Millsaps-Wilson Library



    Renew your Books
Library Hours: Open Saturday Closed     
All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource

Index to journal articles (and some material in books) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).


Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues and contains more than one million bibliographic records. ATLA serials which is also included in our subscription provides links to 100,000 full text articles.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review Some full text available
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR’s publication, from 1990 to the present.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum: Latin Texts Online Some full text available
A centralized resource for locating Latin literature on the internet.
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World Some full text available
A collection of materials related to the study of women and gender in the ancient world, including bibliographies, images, and some full-text.
Gnomon Online: the Eichstatt information system for classical studies Some full text available
This online index provides access to a selection of the material in the print periodical (Gnomon: kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft) and to the CD-ROM (Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank) which it supplements, particularly for the years since 1998. The online verison also indexes the holdings of Eichstatt University Library and recent acquisitions of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in classics and classical studies.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


LacusCurtius Some full text available
A resource for the study of Ancient Rome.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource
Modern Language Association's International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
Perseus Project

Online reference source for classical literature, art, and more with access to 10,000 additional images.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists Some full text available
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%).

Web Sites

ASGLE Reference Tools
The site, created by the American Society of Greek and Latin Epigraphy (ASGLE), offers reference tools, such as lists of abbreviations and numerals used in inscriptions.
Classical Latin Texts
A large database of searchable classical Latin texts maintained by the Packard Humanities Institute. Approximately 350 authors, representing almost all classical literary texts up to 200 CE (with a handful of later authors) are now readable and searchable online.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (abridged version)
The abridged version of the Online TLG® is open to the public without subscription. It provides searching and browsing of a selection of TLG texts with all the features of the TLG® search engine. You may browse and search the materials of this site but you may not download them.The Abridged TLG provides access to a number of works from authors such as Homer, Hesiod, Plato, Aristotle, the Greek tragedians and orators that have traditionally been used in college level instruction of Greek.
Aesopica.net Some full text available
Aesopica.net brings together Aesop's Fables or, more accurately, those fables that since ancient times have been attributed to Aesop. Provides 1,418 full-text English translations of the fables and 646 Latin translations and 780 original Greek texts
APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System. Some full text available
APIS provides easy access to Greek and Roman documents housed at research collections worldwide; many have been scanned and can now be viewed by any classics student with Internet access. APIS is a collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials (e.g. papyri, ostraca, wood tablets, etc) located in collections around the world.
Didaskalia Some full text available
Didaskalia is an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance.
Greek Mythology Link Some full text available
The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of the Greek myths written on line by Carlos Parada, author of the book Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology, published in 1993. The Greek Mythology Link is concerned with the creative, artistic, literary and inspiring aspects of the Greek myths. The network created by genealogy has been given particular attention, as well as some structural aspects partly derived from it. The information provided in this site is based on original sources.

Bibliographies: Greek and Latin literature by Author

Latin and Greek Authors on the Web
Relevant on-line resources for individual Latin and Greek authors.

Bibliographies: Hellenistic Greek literature

Hellenistic Bibliography
Provides access to a series of bibliographies on post-classical Greek poetry and its influence.

Bibliographies: Roman Literature by Author

Appendix Vergiliana

Latest Entry 2003.


Apuleius: Cupid und Psyche
Latest Entry 2002
Carmina Priapea
Latest Entry 2003.
Catullus
Latest Entry 1999.
Horace
Latest Entry 2006.
Horace - Odes I-III
Latest Entry 1999.
Martial
Latest Entry 2001.
Petronius: Cena Trimalchionis
Latest Entry 2003.
Ps.-Seneca: Epigrams
Latest Entry 2002.
Ps.-Vergil: Catalepton

Latest Entry 2002.


Vergil: Aeneid
Latest Entry 2005.
Vergil: Eclogues
Latest Entry 2002.
Vergil: Georgics

Latest Entry 2003.


Bibliographies: Roman Literature by Genre

Ancient Novel
Latest Entry 2000.
Roman Biography
Latest Entry 1999.
Roman Epistolary Literature
Latest Entry 1999.
Roman Love Elegy
Latest Entry 2004.

Comprehensive lists of online bibliographies for all aspects of the Greek world

PINAX ONLINE
An Annotated List of Web Bibliographies on the Ancient Greek World

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Classics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Who’s Who in the Classical World

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Pollux: Archimedes Project Dictionary Access Some full text available
A collection of dictionaries in the Classics, including Greek, Latin and other dictionaries.

Encyclopedias

Brill's New Pauly Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
New Pauly Online includes all the volumes of Brill’s New Pauly and Der Neue Pauly, and is a dual-language (English and German) reference database. This encyclopedic database is a standard work for the study of the ancient world, and is interdisciplinary in nature.

This online database comprises:
  • Antiquity (15 print volumes), which is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
  • Classical Tradition (5 print volumes), which is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Der Neue Pauly Restricted Resource Some full text available
New Pauly Online includes all the volumes of Brill’s New Pauly and Der Neue Pauly, and is a dual-language (English and German) reference database. This encyclopedic database is a standard work for the study of the ancient world, and is interdisciplinary in nature.

This online database comprises:
  • Antiquity (15 print volumes), which is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
  • Classical Tradition (5 print volumes), which is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Images & Artifacts

ARTstor Resource contains images Some full text available

ARTstor offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library’s content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor’s software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.


Beazley Archive Some full text available
Classical Art Research Centre
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World Some full text available
A collection of materials related to the study of women and gender in the ancient world, including bibliographies, images, and some full-text.
LacusCurtius Some full text available
A resource for the study of Ancient Rome.
Metis Some full text available
A QTVR Interface for Ancient Greek Archaeological Sites
Perseus Project

Online reference source for classical literature, art, and more with access to 10,000 additional images.


Maps of the Ancient World

Brill's New Pauly Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
New Pauly Online includes all the volumes of Brill’s New Pauly and Der Neue Pauly, and is a dual-language (English and German) reference database. This encyclopedic database is a standard work for the study of the ancient world, and is interdisciplinary in nature.

This online database comprises:
  • Antiquity (15 print volumes), which is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
  • Classical Tradition (5 print volumes), which is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.

Ancient World Mapping Center Some full text available
Maps for Students
CMGA - MAGIS Some full text available
Regional survey projects in the greater Mediterranean region
Roma Some full text available
City Map of Ancient Rome
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books
Classical Studies Books are often in the P section in the west wing of the top floor, but books can be found throughout the library.  See the list below for some of the call numbers and subjects that are related to classical studies.
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.