Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

American Chemical Society Web Editions Restricted Resource Some full text available

This online archive lets you search the full text of all titles published by ACS in the past five years.


SciFinder Restricted Resource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. 

Our license is for one simultaneous user, so be sure to logout when you are finished searching.

 You must create an account before you can use SciFinder. 

From Off-Campus you will need to login twice:
1.  Go to http://ezproxy.millsaps.edu/login?url=https://Scifinder.cas.org and login to the Library's off-campus server with your Millsaps Username and password
2. You will be prompted with a security warning referring to an “untrusted certificate” or an “untrusted site.”  It is okay to accept the security exception for this library database.  In Firefox, click the "Add exception" button and then click the "Confirm Security Exception."  In Internet Explorer, click "Continue to this website (not recommended). " and then click Yes in the box that pops up.
3. You will be taken to SciFinder.  Login to SciFinder with your Scifinder username and password.
 

Highwire Some full text available
Full-text of 332 leading journals in life science.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Pubmed (Medline)
Abstracts of articles in all areas of medicine. PubMed Coverage PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as: * The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. * Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. * Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PubMed Central Some full text available
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
AGRICOLA
The National Agriculture Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
Clase/Periodica Restricted Resource
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Web Sites

CDC Chemical Safety

CDC Chemical Safety is a cumulative list of chemical databases, which contain acute and chronic health effects information of being exposed to a myriad number of hazardous chemicals. Some of these chemicals may be systemic toxins, carcinogens, reproductive toxicants, neurological toxicants, sensitizers, immunological agents, dermatopathic agents, pneumoconiotic agents, or asthmagens.

 

These databases also contain chemical information on reactivity, explosiveness, and other physical properties, such as, molecular weight, vapor pressure, and flammability.


Crystallography Open Database

Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.


Nobel Prizes in Chemistry

Here you will find a list of all Nobel Prizes awarded in Chemistry from 1901 to the present.


ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 29 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 440 data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.


National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Some full text available
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
PubChem

PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.


Scirus
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
TOXNET Some full text available
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases from the National Library of Medicine.

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Restricted Resource

The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. Entries are short and informative, covering details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written, pointing out the pitfalls where terms are often confused and providing recommended nomenclature and alternative names.


Oxford Reference Online -- Physical Sciences & Mathematics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Astronomy, A Dictionary of Chemistry, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics, A Dictionary of Physics, A Dictionary of Scientists, A Dictionary of Statistics, A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Government Information

Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Chemistry Reference
  • The ACS Style Guide
    Online Version
    QD8.5 .A25 2006 REFERENCE
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    TP9 .K54 2001 REFERENCE
  • Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry, 5th Ed.
    QD4 .V36 2005 REFERENCE
Browse Library Books by Call Number
Chemistry Books are normally shelved in Call Numbers QD and RA-RB on the Third Floor of the West Wing.
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.
Primary vs. Secondary in the Sciences

Primary Sources

When we speak of Primary source material in the Sciences, what we are basically talking about is original research -- the work researchers do in the laboratory and then write up and publish in formal lab reports and/or research articles that you will encounter in the Scientific Journals.

Primary sources provide:

  • A detailed description of experiments
  • References to other experiments and scientists in the field
  • Source material for latest findings

One finds Primary source material in the Academic Journals that cover specific disciplines or in published conference proceedings.

As Primary source material presents original research, the articles tend to be narrow in focus and difficult to read unless you are an expert in the specific subject area of the research. The target audience is other people in the same field that share the common terminology.

Primary sources are important in that they are the original source of new knowledge. Primary source articles are often cited or referred to in other articles -- sometimes a secondary source or sometimes other original articles.

Secondary Sources

In the sciences, secondary sources are those that discuss the original research of others. They often summarize, interpret, and analyze material found in primary source research. Often, a secondary source such as a science periodical or a trade magazine will be the first place you would hear about some new original research. These articles provide enough citation information so that you can track down the Primary source material.

Secondary Sources provide context for the Primary Source material, giving readers:

  • Summaries of scientific work
  • Perspective
  • Facts

Some examples of Secondary Sources are:

  • Science periodicals like Scientific American or Natural History or the Science section of the New York Times
  • Review Articles in Scientific Journals
  • Annual Reviews
  • Websites like Science Daily

Secondary sources are written in language that is more accessible to a broader audience -- not just for those well-versed in a specific field. As they are not the original source of information, they lack the detailed description of the experiments and research that will be found in the Primary source.