Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

AGRICOLA
The National Agriculture Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
Chronicle of Higher Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
If you're on campus, you can access the full website http://chronicle.com without doing anything.  If you want to access The Chronicle off-site, you simply need to create a free account on their website using your Millsaps email address. To create you free account, go to Chronicle.com and click "Log In" link at top, right hand side of Web page.

The Chronicle’s free iPad app can be found here: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id414901678

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Based in Washington, D.C., The Chronicle has more than 70 writers, editors, and international correspondents.

Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.

Access Provided to the Millsaps community by the President's Office.


Company Profiles from Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

Hoover's Company Profiles, via Westlaw Restricted Resource Some full text available

Coverage Varies by company. This database contains the most recent profile report available from Hoover's for more than 41,000 public and private companies (approximately 29,000 U.S. companies and 12,000 non-U.S. companies; 13,000 public and 21,000 private).

Click "Hoover's Company Profiles"


WestlawNext Campus Research Restricted Resource Some full text available

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides full text for over 2,200 scholarly business journals. The interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.


Business Wire News (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
Econ Lit
Index to economic literature.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Mergent Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Mergent Online is a fully searchable database with financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges. Coverage includes SEC filings, factsheets, insider holdings, institutional holdings, executive biographies, news, and Mergent Reports. This database is especially useful for company financial information, with data going back fifteen years. Customizable report tools are available and data can be downloaded in a variety of formats.


Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Accounting, A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Economics, A Dictionary of Finance and Banking, A Dictionary of Human Resource Management, The Handbook of International Financial Terms

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Restricted Resource

International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History includes 900 original articles by noted scholars from more than thirty-five countries. Articles range from 500-word entries on inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders to overarching, 8,000-word essays on markets, industries, and labor. With coverage ranging from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos, this landmark works stands at the busy intersection of history and the social sciences.

The general conceptual categories of the work are: Geography (entries on cities, countries, and regions); Agriculture; Production Systems, Business History, and Technology; Demography; Institutions, Governments, and Markets; Macroeconomic History and International Economics; Money, Banking and Finance; Labor; Natural Resources and the Environment; and Biographies.


Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Government Information

Tax Management Tax Practice Library Restricted Resource
The Tax Management Library provides electronic access to a wide range of primary and secondary tax materials including the BNA Tax Management Portfolios on U.S. Income, Foreign Income and Estate Gifts and Trusts. It also includes the Internal Revenue Code, tax cases, regulations, IRS documents and a number of other sources.



note: Content included in our subscription displays as linked blue text on all menu pages. Content items displayed in grayed text are not included in our subscription.
EDGAR: SEC filings and forms Some full text available
Makes available information about companies, including most SEC filings, address, telephone number, state of incorporation, CIK number, SIC code, and fiscal year end.

Newspapers--International

Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Statistics/Data

Value Line Online, Library Elite Restricted Resource

Value Line Online Library Elite covers over 3,500 stocks, including 1,800 small and mid-cap companies. Included are online full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety Ranks. Users can customize Value Line reports to match their investment objectives.


note: The subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Subject
Business Books are normally shelved in the Social Sciences and Business section Call Numbers beginning with H on the Third Floor in the stack tier.
Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.