Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

AGRICOLA
The National Agriculture Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. 

Our license is for one simultaneous user, so be sure to logout when you are finished searching.

 You must create an account before you can use SciFinder. 

From Off-Campus you will need to login twice:
1.  Go to http://ezproxy.millsaps.edu/login?url=https://Scifinder.cas.org and login to the Library's off-campus server with your Millsaps Username and password
2. You will be prompted with a security warning referring to an “untrusted certificate” or an “untrusted site.”  It is okay to accept the security exception for this library database.  In Firefox, click the "Add exception" button and then click the "Confirm Security Exception."  In Internet Explorer, click "Continue to this website (not recommended). " and then click Yes in the box that pops up.
3. You will be taken to SciFinder.  Login to SciFinder with your Scifinder username and password.
 

American Chemical Society Web Editions Restricted Resource Some full text available

This online archive lets you search the full text of all titles published by ACS in the past five years.


BioOne Restricted Resource Some full text available

BioOne includes the full-texts of bioscience research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.


Clase/Periodica Restricted Resource
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Highwire Some full text available
Full-text of 332 leading journals in life science.
MDX Health Digest Restricted Resource
Digest of medical and health information for consumers.
Medline Plus Health Information Some full text available
Information on hundreds of diseases, conditions and wellness issues.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Pubmed (Medline)
Abstracts of articles in all areas of medicine. PubMed Coverage PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as: * The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. * Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. * Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PubMed Central Some full text available
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

Aromatic and Medicinal Plants Index Some full text available
Alphabetical list by common and scientific name. Purdue University.
Complete Works of Charles Darwin Some full text available
The largest collection of Darwin’s writings ever published appears on the web.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Some full text available
Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Some full text available
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Primate info net Some full text available
The best freely available general online resource for links and original content about nonhuman primates.
Scirus
The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
WildFinder Some full text available
WildFinder is a GIS tool for researching Earth's animals. The home page offers two approaches to the database. Search by Place allows users to zoom in on an ecoregion and generate a list of species that live there; Search by Species shows geographic distribution and is searchable by scientific or common name. You can also Search by Place.

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Restricted Resource

The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Fully revised and updated, this new edition includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology. Entries are short and informative, covering details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written, pointing out the pitfalls where terms are often confused and providing recommended nomenclature and alternative names.


Oxford Reference Online -- Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Animal Behaviour, A Dictionary of Biology, The Oxford Companion to the Body, A Dictionary of Ecology, A Dictionary of Genetics, A Dictionary of Plant Sciences, A Dictionary of Scientists, A Dictionary of Zoology

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.
Oxford Reference Online -- Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
A Dictionary of Animal Behaviour, A Dictionary of Biology, The Oxford Companion to the Body, A Dictionary of Ecology, A Dictionary of Genetics, A Dictionary of Plant Sciences, A Dictionary of Scientists, A Dictionary of Zoology

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Government Information

Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Primary Sources

Britannica's Original Sources Restricted Resource Some full text available

The site includes original source documents, critical selections and acclaimed works across U.S. and World History, Literature, Social Science, Political Science, Law, Science, Mathematics, Religion, Philosophy, and Language.

You may also take a look at our Finding Primary Sources research guide.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Browse Library Books by Call Number
Biology books can be found in the Q's on the Third Floor - West Wing of the library.
Can't Find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.