Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

AGRICOLA
The National Agriculture Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
Aquatic, Wetland and Invasive Plant Glossary Some full text available
Aquatic Plant Information Retrieval System from the Center for Aquatic Plants, University of Florida. 55,000+ citations on ecology, physiology, utilization, and control. Free to the public.
BioOne Restricted Resource Some full text available

BioOne includes the full-texts of bioscience research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.


Highwire Some full text available
Full-text of 332 leading journals in life science.
Index to American Botanical Literature
A searchable database of American botanical literature from late 1995 to present. Search by subject category (eg. algae, fungi, etc.), author, article title, journal name, publisher, and keywords. New York Botanical Garden. Free to the public.
Recent literature on lichens
From the American Bryological and Lichenological Society as published in The Bryologist, this searchable database contains over 24,000 references dated 1536 to present. Search by author, journal name, and keyword from the title, keyword, or abstract fields. Limit searches by material type: articles, books, chapters, or reviews.

Web Sites

Aromatic and Medicinal Plants Index Some full text available
Alphabetical list by common and scientific name. Purdue University.
eFloras.org Some full text available
This virtual library of online floras offers resources from leading international institutions of botanical research, including the monumental Flora of China and the Flora of North America.
FAO forestry Some full text available
FAO is an organization of the UN.
Flora of North America Web Site Some full text available
FNA presents, in one published reference source, information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico.
Hypomyces Some full text available
This site presents descriptions and over 500 images for the 30 species of Hypomyces that represent a majority of the Hypomyces found in temperate regions.
Missouri Botanical Garden plant science Some full text available
The Missouri Botanical Garden offers access to 30 outstanding plant databases, including TROPICOS, with its associated 50,000 plant images and bibliographies; and other resources, e.g., national floras, angiospermous, and bryological databases.
Poisonous Plant Database Some full text available
An alphabetical listing of references on poisonous plants. Maintained by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration, Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition, Office of Plant and Dairy Foods and Beverages.

Dictionaries

dictionary of ecology, evolution, and systematics
Print Location: REFERENCE QH540.4 .L56 1998 Some full text available
Lincoln, Roger J.
dictionary of plant sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
Electronic book.
Longman illustrated dictionary of botany : the elements of plant science illustrated and defined.
Print Location: REFERENCE QK7 .S85 1984 Some full text available
Andrew Sugden.
Oxford Reference Online -- Science Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Astromony, Biology, Medicine, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Ecology, Genetics, Nursing, Physics, Plant Sciences, Psychology, Science Fiction, Weather, and Zoology Dictionaries.

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.

Stearn's dictionary of plant names for gardeners : a handbook on the origin and meaning of the botanical names of some cultivated plants
Print Location: REFERENCE QK11 .S56 2002 Some full text available
William T. Stearn.

Encyclopedias

Cambridge illustrated glossary of botanical terms
Print Location: QK10.H53 2000 Some full text available
Michael Hickey and Clive King
NatureServe an Online Encyclopedia of Life Some full text available
Authoritative information on more than 70,000 plants and animals in the U.S. Type in scientific or common name and then click on comprehensive report. The report includes distribution and conservation information, ecology and life history, and references to further information.
Poisonous and medicinal plants.
Print Location: QK100.A1 B57 1990 Some full text available
Blackwell, Will H.
Popular encyclopedia of plants
Print Location: REFERENCE SB107 .P67 1982 Some full text available
Heywood, V. H.

Government Information

PLANTS Database Some full text available
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. PLANTS is a collaborative effort of the USDA NRCS National Plant Data Center (NPDC), the USDA NRCS Information Technology Center (ITC), The USDA National Information Technology Center (NITC), and many other partners.
Science.gov Some full text available

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


Images & Artifacts

Catalog of Botanical Illustrations - Smithsonian Institution Some full text available
More than 500 images of Bromelaciae, Cactaceae, and Melastomataceae by early to mid-20th century artists are available.
Plant Image Collection - Smithsonian Institution Some full text available
This library of over 21,000 photographic images of plant species and plant habitats is intended for public as well as professional use. The web images may be used as presented for non-commercial purposes only, with appropriate attribution.
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Tips

Professor: Dr. Debora L. Mann

Email: manndl@millsaps.edu

Course Code(s): BIOL 1010 - Core 7 or 9

Semester: Fall 2007

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.