Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Restricted Resource Some full text available
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Newspapers

African Newspapers 1800-1922 Restricted Resource Some full text available

This groundbreaking online collection from Readex/NewsBank provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe, African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922.


New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Web Sites

African studies Internet resources Some full text available
Columbia University's collection of African Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Africa available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.
Civil Rights Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web. The initiative promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement through its three principal components: 1) a digital video archive of historical news film, 2) a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library by connecting related digital collections on a national scale, and 3) a learning objects component delivering resources such as contextual stories, encyclopedia articles, lesson plans, and activities.
Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964 Some full text available Resource contains images
The Wisconsin Historical Society has one of the richest collections of Civil Rights movement records in the nation, which includes more than 100 manuscript collections documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964.
BlackPast.org Some full text available
BlackPast.org makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location. These materials include an online encyclopedia, complete transcripts of speeches, full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines, and four gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, major African American museums and research centers, and hundreds of other website resources on black history.
Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture: A Multi-media Archive Some full text available
A monumental contribution to Harriet Beecher Stowe studies in particular and to US literary and popular history in general, this site, with its powerful search engine, provides easy access to innumerable astounding primary and secondary sources.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.

Encyclopedias

Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Presents more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, and 150 plot summaries of major works.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text, online version of EB.

Index

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge) Restricted Resource
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


Primary Sources

Documenting the American South Some full text available
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It includes eleven thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture.
Web Sites
African American Archaeology, History and Cultures.
"This web site is designed to provide convenient access to online presentations and resources concerning the subjects of African-American archaeology, history and cultures, and broader subjects of African diaspora archaeology. The principal focus is on providing links to online presentations concerning African-American archaeology projects, set out in the first sections below, with links listed alphabetically by state within each regional section. Additional links to online resources and presentations concerning African-American history and culture, African archaeology, African history and cultures, African heritage in Britain, and the subjects of slavery, resistance and abolition are also provided. Bibliographies and research guides to print publications within each subject area are included."
African American Cultural Collections and Museums: Archiving and Preserving Black History.
Guide to African-American collections held at academic and public libraries and museums, as well as African American cultural organizations.
African American Health.
National Library of Medicine/MedlinePlus web page on the issue of African American Health, with links to recent news, the NIH, nutrition, prevention/screening, research, specific conditions/aspects of African American health, treatment, organizations, statistics, children, seniors, women, and Spanish language pages.
 
African American Odyssey.
Virtual exhibit from the collections of the Library of Congress provides "a comprehensive, rich picture of more than 200 years of African American struggle and achievement."
 
The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture.
Selections from a Library of Congress exhibit focusing on colonization, abolition, migration and the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
 
African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection.
The Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection at the Library of Congress provides a glimpse of African-American history and culture between 1818 and 1907. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and Ida B. Wells-Barnett.
 
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century.
"African American Women Writers of the 19th Century is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th- century titles, this digital library is key-word-searchable."
 
American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology.
Contains samples of Works Progress Administration (WPA) interviews conducted with over 2300 former slaves between 1936 and 1938, together with WPA photographs of the former slaves. The entire collection of narratives is published in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, edited by George P. Rawick, Westport CT: Greenwood Press. 1972-79; Mugar E441 F72
 
Archives of African-American Music and Culture.
Focuses on the research and study of African-American music and culture. Collections include audio and video recordings, photographs, original scores and manuscripts, radio programs, and interviews. Lists archives' holdings, events and exhibitions, and links to related sites on African-American music.
 
Blackpast.org: An Online Reference Guide to African American History.
"An online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 1,500 entries, the complete transcript of over 125 speeches given between 1789 and 2008, over 100 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and four gateway pages with links to 50 digital archive collections. Additionally 75 major African American museums and research centers and over 400 other website resources on black history are also linked to the website."

 Boston African Americana Project.
"The Boston African Americana Project gathers visual and textual materials held by the Athenaeum, the Bostonian Society, Historic New England, and the Massachusetts Historical Society. Digitized materials relating to African Americans fall broadly within the categories of slavery, the abolition movement, free blacks, the Civil War, Emancipation, Reconstruction, rural life, urban life, social life, advertising, and depictions of men, women, and children, and consist of broadsides, caricatures, illustrations, manuscripts, pamphlets, political cartoons, portraits, and views. The database contains images and transcriptions of over five hundred items spanning the years 1770 to 1950, with the bulk of the collection falling around 1865."
 
The Civil Rights Movement: Sites for Students and Researchers.
Librarian-authored guide to electronic resources on the Civil Rights Movement. Includes digital collections of primary resources; famous people, events, and places; government documents; and historyand museums.
The Encyclopædia Britannica Guide to Black History. (BU-px).
"The Encyclopædia Britannica Guide to Black History features 600 informative articles and is beautifully illustrated with historical film clips and audio recordings, as well as hundreds of photographs and other images."
The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress.
"The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his own freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher. The papers span the years 1841 to 1964, with the bulk of the material from 1862 to 1895. The printed Speech, Article, and Book Series contains the writings of Douglass and such contemporaries in the abolitionist and early women's rights movements as Henry Ward Beecher, Ida B. Wells, Gerrit Smith, Horace Greeley, and others. The Subject File Series reveals Douglass's interest in diverse subjects such as politics, emancipation, racial prejudice, women's suffrage, and prison reform. Scrapbooks document Douglass's role as minister to Haiti and the controversy surrounding his interracial second marriage."
 
The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition.
"The Gilder Lehrman Center is dedicated to the investigation and dissemination of information concerning all aspects of the Atlantic slave system and its destruction." Resources include an online document collection; Tangled Roots, a research project about the shared history of African Americans and Irish Americans; curriculum on the Amistad case; and other resources.
The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University.
"Since its inception in 2001, the Malcolm X Project at Columbia University has been concerned primarily with gathering and illuminating new research about El Hajj Malik el-Shabazz through two major initiatives: 1) the construction of a robust, web-based, multimedia version of The Autobiography of Malcolm X, and 2) the research and development of a biography of Malcolm X written by Dr. Manning Marable, the project's director."
National Museum of African American History and Culture.
A branch of the Smithsonian Institution, "the Museum on the Web is the online experience of the new National Museum of African American History and Culture. Conceived from the very beginning as a fully virtual precursor to the museum to be built on the Washington Mall, this is the first time a major museum is opening its doors on the Web prior to its physical existence. The centerpiece of the NMAAHC Museum on the Web are the collected reminiscences of ordinary Americans."

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
A branch of the New York Public Library, this is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving, and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world. Offers access to the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century digital archives as well as other digital collections and online exhibits.
 
Sonja Haynes Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History Guide to the Web.
Based at the library of the Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this guide contains links to 600+ Web sites on African, African American, and African Diaspora history and culture.
 
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database.
“The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the 16th and 19th centuries.  It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of people in world history.”
Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Statistics
Black Population in the U.S.
These tables present data on the demographic, social, and economic characteristics of the black population in the United States from the March 2004 and earlier supplements to the Current Population Survey (CPS). Topics covered include geographic distribution, marital status, educational attainment, family and household type, labor force status, occupational distribution, earnings, family income, and poverty status.
 
Facts on the Black or African American Population.
Census Bureau links to the most recent data on African Americans, including social and economic characteristics, Census 2000 information and related topics.

Print Statistical Sources
African Americans Statistics

Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.