Millsaps College


All Items by Source

Articles in Journals/Magazines

Art Index Restricted Resource

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more. 


Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource

Index to journal articles (and some material in books) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Dictionaries

Oxford Reference Online -- Art & Architecture Books Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture 2/e
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists 4/e
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms 2/e
A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art 2/e
A Dictionary of Modern Design

NOTE:  Maximum 1 simultaneous user. Please try later if busy.


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Print Location: CB361 .E52 1999 Some full text available
<
Concise encyclopaedia of the Italian Renaissance
Print Location: DG445 .C66 Some full text available

Hale, J. R. (John Rigby), 1923-

Located in the Library Reference Room


Images & Artifacts

ARTstor Resource contains images Some full text available

ARTstor offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library’s content includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor’s software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.


Research Help
Picture: Library / Main Desk

Library / Main Desk
librarian@millsaps.edu
Tel: (601) 974-1073

Helpguides
Guide Created in 2008 for Dr. Elise Smith's class.
ARTStor
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Help using ARTStor can be found on the Art Department's ArtStor page.


Web Sites for Images


Can't find it at Millsaps?
If your article or book is not available at Millsaps Library, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Allow at least a week for an article to arrive and two weeks for a book to arrive. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with the article attached as soon as it has arrived.