Millsaps College


Databases
ABCDEGHIJLMNOPRSTVWNumAllImages Audio Video

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
In 2012 the library upgraded from Academic Search Premier to Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete includes everything that was in Academic Search Premier, plus more.

Academic Search Complete has:
  • Nearly 13,000 abstracted and indexed journals
  • More than 8,750 full-text journals
  • Full text for nearly 7,800 peer-reviewed journals
  • PDF content dating back as far as 1887
  • Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

NOTE:  If you are on a Mobile Phone, try this link for a cleaner interface.

AGRICOLA
The National Agriculture Library Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

Provides full text for over 2,200 scholarly business journals. The interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.

NOTE:  If you are on a mobile phone try this link for a cleaner interface.


Business Wire News (EBSCO)
A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
Chronicle of Higher Education
If you're on campus, you can access the full website http://chronicle.com without doing anything.  If you want to access The Chronicle off-site, you simply need to create a free account on their website using your Millsaps email address. To create you free account, go to Chronicle.com and click "Log In" link at top, right hand side of Web page.

The Chronicle’s free iPad app can be found here: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id414901678

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Based in Washington, D.C., The Chronicle has more than 70 writers, editors, and international correspondents.

Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.

Access Provided to the Millsaps community by the President's Office.


Company Profiles from Business Source Premier
Detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

Econ Lit
Index to economic literature.
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Full text, online version of EB.
Hoover's Company Profiles, via Westlaw

Coverage Varies by company. This database contains the most recent profile report available from Hoover's for more than 41,000 public and private companies (approximately 29,000 U.S. companies and 12,000 non-U.S. companies; 13,000 public and 21,000 private).

Click "Hoover's Company Profiles"


JSTOR

Full-text back runs of major academic journals. The Arts & Sciences I Collection, to which Millsaps subscribes, includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. Established in 1997, it is JSTOR's first collection and includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics.


Mergent Online

Mergent Online is a fully searchable database with financial details of over 25,000 active and inactive public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchanges. Coverage includes SEC filings, factsheets, insider holdings, institutional holdings, executive biographies, news, and Mergent Reports. This database is especially useful for company financial information, with data going back fifteen years. Customizable report tools are available and data can be downloaded in a variety of formats.


New York Times (1980 - present) and The Wall Street Journal (1984 to present)
The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.

Tax Management Tax Practice Library
Note: Content included in our subscription displays as linked blue text on all menu pages. Content items displayed in grayed text are not included in our subscription.
The Tax Management Library provides electronic access to a wide range of primary and secondary tax materials including the BNA Tax Management Portfolios on U.S. Income, Foreign Income and Estate Gifts and Trusts. It also includes the Internal Revenue Code, tax cases, regulations, IRS documents and a number of other sources.



Value Line Online, Library Elite
Note: The subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Value Line Online Library Elite covers over 3,500 stocks, including 1,800 small and mid-cap companies. Included are online full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety Ranks. Users can customize Value Line reports to match their investment objectives.


Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present)
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.
Westlaw Campus Research
Westlaw Campus Research covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text.  It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business.

Law:  Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary.  Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.

News:  Contains full text of newspapers including The New York Times, Boston Globe, Atlanta Journal and Constitution; magazines such as Newsweek, Consumer Reports, and Publisher's Weekly; over 400 newswires; newsletters; and over 900 broadcast transcripts.
Some of the regional papers included are:  Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1988-present), Memphis Commercial Appeal (1990-present), New Orleans Times-Picayune (1989-present).  Also, archived stories from news stations across the U.S. are available, and local stations WAPT and WJTV are included (Exact Titles:  Jackson ABC 16 WAPT-MS, Jackson CBS 12 WJTV-MS).

 

Business:
Selected business, trade and professional journals and publications, including Financial Times, The Economist, Business Week, and The New England Journal of Medicine.  Also contains company information e.g. Hoover's Company Records, including profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations, and SEC Filings.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files