Millsaps College


Databases
ABCDEGHIJLMNOPRSTVW NumAllImages Audio Video

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Wall Street Journal (1984 - present) and New York Times (1980 - present)
The complete text of articles for The Wall Street Journal back to 1984 is provided in text format. The complete text of articles for the New York Times back to 1980 is provided in text format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Both newspapers may be searched at the same time, or each newspaper can be searched separately.
Western Civilization Collection from Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books plus an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. Also includes the a collection of reference books about Literature and Western Civilization.
Westlaw Campus Research (Classic Version)
Note: Select WestlawNext Campus Research in the Database List for the newest interface

Note: A new interface to access Westlaw content is available: WestlawNext Campus Research.


Westlaw Campus Research covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text.  It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business.

Law:  Contains the full text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; a legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary.  Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Laws, regulations, reports, and related European Union material is also included.

News:  Contains full text of newspapers including The New York Times, Boston Globe, Atlanta Journal and Constitution; magazines such as Newsweek, Consumer Reports, and Publisher's Weekly; over 400 newswires; newsletters; and over 900 broadcast transcripts.
Some of the regional papers included are:  Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1988-present), Memphis Commercial Appeal (1990-present), New Orleans Times-Picayune (1989-present).  Also, archived stories from news stations across the U.S. are available, and local stations WAPT and WJTV are included (Exact Titles:  Jackson ABC 16 WAPT-MS, Jackson CBS 12 WJTV-MS).

 

Business:
Selected business, trade and professional journals and publications, including Financial Times, The Economist, Business Week, and The New England Journal of Medicine.  Also contains company information e.g. Hoover's Company Records, including profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations, and SEC Filings.

WestlawNext Campus Research

WestlawNext Campus Research provides access to news, business, and law-related information along with an intuitive global search box. Below are some of the resources included:


Law Resources: American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System, and KeyCite, United States Code Annotated, all federal and state cases, Supreme Court cases, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and European Union Law


Business Resources: SEC filings, Hoover’s company records, and profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations


News Resources: Text of current and archival editions of hundreds of U.S. newspapers, magazines, journals, newswires, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, and company information


World Cat
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses database
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files