Millsaps College


Databases
ABCDEGHIJLMNOPRS TWNumAllImages Audio Video

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Science.gov

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information
provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results


SciFinder
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 21 million citations and indexes over 8,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. 

Our license is for one simultaneous user, so be sure to logout when you are finished searching.

 You must create an account before you can use SciFinder. 

From Off-Campus you will need to login twice:
1.  Go to http://ezproxy.millsaps.edu/login?url=https://Scifinder.cas.org and login to the Library's off-campus server with your Millsaps Username and password
2. You will be prompted with a security warning referring to an “untrusted certificate” or an “untrusted site.”  It is okay to accept the security exception for this library database.  In Firefox, click the "Add exception" button and then click the "Confirm Security Exception."  In Internet Explorer, click "Continue to this website (not recommended). " and then click Yes in the box that pops up.
3. You will be taken to SciFinder.  Login to SciFinder with your Scifinder username and password.
 

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge)
1970-Present.
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes over 1,950 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Updated weekly.


SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2,035,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 746 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 800 books and monographs, and full text for 11,991 conference papers.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files