Millsaps College


Databases
ABCDEGHIJLMNOP RSTWNumAllImages Audio Video

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Perseus Digital Library Catalog

The Perseus Catalog is an attempt to provide systematic catalog access to at least one online edition of every major Greek and Latin author (both surviving and fragmentary) from antiquity to 600 CE. Still a work in progress, the catalog currently includes 3,679 individual works (2,522 Greek and 1,247 Latin), with over 11,000 links to online versions of these works (6,419 in Google Books, 5,098 to the Internet Archive, 593 to the Hathi Trust). The Perseus interface now includes links to the Perseus Catalog from the main navigation bar, and also from within the majority of texts in the Greco-Roman collection.

 


Philosopher's Index

Philosopher's Index provides citation information and abstracts for journal articles and books published from 1940 to present. The database indexes material on the philosophy of various disciplines and philosophy-related subjects including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics and philosophical anthropology. 

NOTE:  July 2, 2008 -- We now get Philosopher's Index from Ebsco instead of Silverplatter.  The content is the same, but the interface is different.  Let us know if you have any questions.


Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)

The Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains all APS journal articles published from 1893–2005. Each January, another year is added to the archive.


Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.


Project Muse
Index and full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES contains more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 35,000 searchable full text articles from 41 journals published by the American Psychological Association and 8 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Examples of titles offered in PsycARTICLES include: American Psychologist, Behavioral Neuroscience, Canadian Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychotherapy: Theory/Research/Practice/Training, etc. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.

NOTE:  Mobile phone users, try this link for a cleaner interface.

PsycINFO
Index and abstracts to psychology and related journals. PsycINFO contains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1872 to the present, includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 35 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc.
Pubmed (Medline)
Abstracts of articles in all areas of medicine. PubMed Coverage PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, as well as: * The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. * Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. * Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
PubMed Central
A digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files